skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Murray   [1–3 February 1869]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

My dear Sir

M. Ch. Phipps Haussoullier of 52 Grand Rue des Batignolles, Paris, has applied to me for authorization for translating into French my Naturalist’s Voyage.2 I should be very glad of this. As you have copyright, will be so kind as to grant permission, & if so, please to send me the proper authorization that I may forward it to him— I hope that you will not object, & believe me yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

P.S. How has this Book sold since you printed an Edit. uniform with Origin?3

Footnotes

The date is established by the relationship between this letter, the letter from C. P. Haussoullier, 31 January 1869, and the letter from John Murray, 3 February [1869].
CD refers to Charles Phipps Haussoullier and to Journal of researches (see letter from C. P. Haussoullier, 31 January 1869 and n. 1).
CD refers to Journal of researches (1860). For more on the publishing history of the book, including changes to the title and appearance of different editions, see Freeman 1977.

Summary

Asks JM to grant permission for a French translation of his "Naturalist’s voyage" [Journal of researches].

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-6596
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
John Murray
Sent from
Down
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 ff. 192–193)
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6596,” accessed on 22 September 2019, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-6596.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17

letter