skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Linnean Society   1 June 1868

Down, Bromley Kent

June 1 /68

My dear Sir,

“As I was permitted to have 50 cops. of my former papers, I have marked this number on the proofs.

If necessy, will you be so kind as to lay my request before the Council.1

(signed) Ch. Darwin.”


CD’s request relates either to ‘Illegitimate offspring of dimorphic and trimorphic plants’ or to ‘Specific difference in Primula’, or to both: both papers were published in the June 1868 issue of the Journal of the Linnean Society of London (Botany). Authors of papers in the Transactions were allowed twenty-five free copies of their papers, and could have more copies printed for a fee on giving previous notice (Linnean Society of London, Council minutes, 2 May 1867). At a meeting on 2 July 1868, it was agreed to extend the same privilege to the authors of papers in the Journal (Linnean Society of London, Council minutes). There is no record of CD’s specific request being brought before the council. CD’s previous papers, ‘Dimorphic condition in Primula’, ‘Three sexual forms of Catasetum tridentatum’, ‘Two forms in species of Linum’, ‘Three forms of Lythrum salicaria’, and ‘Climbing plants’, were all published in the Journal.


Requests 50 copies of his paper ["Offspring of illegitimate unions of di- and trimorphic plants", J. Linn. Soc. Lond. (Bot.) 10 (1869): 393–437].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Linnean Society
Sent from
Source of text
Linnean Society of London (Fellows Files No. 6)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6221,” accessed on 22 June 2018,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16