skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. J. Moulinié   30 November [1867]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E. [6 Queen Anne Street, London]

Nov. 30th

Dear Sir

I am very much obliged for your note.—2 I am particularly glad that M. Reinwald does not intend to publish the 1st. vol. separately.3 I quite agree with you that in all cases it is desirable that the whole work shd. appear at the same time, and in the present case it is especially desirable, as I hope & think that the second volume is a little more interesting than the first; & if it had been possible, ought to have formed the first volume.—4

The remaining sheets of Vol. 2 will soon be sent to you.

Whenever the work is complete & nearly ready for publication, perhaps you be so kind as to inform me.

You will rejoice when your labour is over, as I do myself.— How far the book is worth publication, I from the first, as you may remember, doubted. But it has had by anticipation a large sale, my publisher having disposed of 1263 copies at a sort of auction which he holds at the commencement of our publishing season.—5

With much respect & thanks for the honour which you have done me in under taking the Translation I remain Dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | Charles Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. J. Moulinié, 25 November 1867.
Letter from J. J. Moulinié, 25 November 1867.
CD refers to Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald and to the French translation of Variation (Moulinié trans. 1868).

Summary

Glad that Reinwald does not intend separate publication of [Variation] volumes. Book had large sale at [Murray’s] auction.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-5699
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Jean Jacques Moulinié
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6 Down letterhead
Source of text
Bibliothèque Publique et Universitaire de Genève, Ms suppl. 66, f. 3–4
Physical description
4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5699,” accessed on 23 October 2017, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-5699

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15

letter