skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-5514

To J. D. Hooker   25 [April 1867]1

Down

25th.

My dear Hooker

I was very much grieved at your not appearing on Sunday. I sincerely hope you did not fail on account of the baby.2

You were so kind as to offer your bed in Paris to our boys.3 Is the offer yet open? & for how long? Can you also tell us where they cd get additional beds & how live as cheaply as you said.

I sent to Fritz Müller in S. Brazil yr Genera Plantarum—which he has found extremely useful. He says he observes that you have not examined the seeds of Schizolobium & Norantea & he says he should have much pleasure in supplying you with any specimens of S. Brazilian plants.4

Can you spare me a copy of yr. Insular Floras for I should like to send him one from you as I am sure he would appreciate it.5

It was a very gt. disappointment to me not seeing you on Sunday.

Yrs affectionately | C. Darwin

Footnotes

1
The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. D. Hooker, 13 April 1867.
2
Hooker had planned to visit Down from Saturday 20 to Monday 22 April; Hooker’s son Reginald Hawthorn Hooker, born in January 1867, had been ill (see letter from J. D. Hooker, 13 April 1867).
3
See letter from J. D. Hooker, 13 April 1867. Hooker was attending the Paris exhibition as a juror (Gardeners’ Chronicle, 6 April 1867, p. 348).
4
See letter from Fritz Müller, 4 March 1867. CD had offered to send Fritz Müller a copy of the first two parts of Hooker and George Bentham’s Genera plantarum (Bentham and Hooker 1862–83) in his letter of 23 August [1866] (Correspondence vol. 14).
5
See letter to Fritz Müller, 22 April [1867] and n. 12.

Summary

Has sent JDH’s Genera plantarum to Fritz Müller who finds it useful and offers to supply JDH with Brazilian plants.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-5514
From
Darwin, C. R.
To
Hooker, J. D.
Sent from
Down
Source of text
DAR 94: 23–4
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5514,” accessed on 29 August 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-5514

letter