skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. H. Flower   15 April 1863

Royal College of Surgeons of England, | London, | (W.C.)

15th. day of April 1863

My dear Sir

I shall have great pleasure in complying with your request,1 as far as I am able— In the first place I will take the skull to be photographed, as soon as I have obtained (which I have no doubt I shall) the permission of the Committee, and I will make enquiries as to the cost of a cast—2

I hope that some time when you are in town I may have the pleasure of showing you the recent additions to this Collection—to the value of which you have contributed so largely3

Believe me | very faithfully yours | W. H. Flower.

Footnotes

See letter to W. H. Flower, 13 April [1863].
In his letter to Flower of 13 April [1863], CD had asked Flower if he could obtain a photograph or cast of a skull of the South American niata cattle breed from the Royal College of Surgeons for Armand de Quatrefages (see letter from Armand de Quatrefages, [28 March –] 11 April 1863). See also letter to Armand de Quatrefages, 14 May [1863], and letter from Armand de Quatrefages, 19 May [1863].
CD’s fossil vertebrates from the Beagle voyage had been given to the Hunterian Museum, where Flower was the curator (D. M. Porter 1985, pp. 997–9).

Summary

Discusses having skull photographed and a cast made.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-4101
From
William Henry Flower
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Royal College of Surgeons
Source of text
DAR 164: 137
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4101,” accessed on 26 May 2019, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-4101

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 11

letter