skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-3562

From Henry Holland   19 May [1862]1

Brook Street

May 19

My dear Charles

Though dating from Brook St., I am beginning this letter from the house of a patient— Its purport is to thank you for the very interesting volume on the orchids, which you have been good enough to send me;2 the major half of which I have already perused; & the remainder of which I look to with the same expectation of pleasure

There are two or three comments which occur to me on the subject, as it bears upon the principle of “natural selection”. But these matters lie beyond the limits of a note, & I will not enter upon them now. I earnestly wish your time, & your health, gave us more frequent opportunities of meeting & talking over these subjects.

I should gladly hear of any improvement in the state of your little Boy, as respects this singular form of malady.3 Let me know if there is anything which can be considered a change in the character of the symptoms

Ever, my dear Sir | Yours affecly | H Holland

Footnotes

1
The year is provided by reference to the publication of Orchids.
2
Holland’s name appears on the presentation list CD drew up for Orchids (see Correspondence vol. 10, Appendix IV).
3
Holland refers to Horace Darwin (see letter from Henry Holland, 26 March [1862]).

Summary

Thanks for Orchids.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-3562
From
Holland, Henry
To
Darwin, C. R.
Sent from
London, Brook St
Source of text
DAR 166.2: 242
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3562,” accessed on 26 September 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-3562

letter