skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

DCP-LETT-2840

To John Higgins   21 June [1860]

Down Bromley Kent

June 21.

My dear Sir

I have just received your letter of the 19th (the Post taking two days here) & thank you for it.1 I place the affair entirely in your hands, fully believing that you will act in the best way possible for me.—

As the time is so near it will be impossible for me to hear from my Son, after seeing the farm, in time to communicate with you.2 My son will defer his visit for a week or two, but whether or no Anwick be purchased he will probably pay Alford a visit in the course of a week or two.3 And I am much obliged for your very kind offer of hospitality & of showing him the Farms.—

But I know how much occupied your time is & he must not trespass on your kindness.—

My dear Sir | Yours sincerely | C. Darwin

Please to rememmber my statements about money in Hand & on Deposit at 7 days, & act as well as you can about payment.—

Post takes two days here.—

P.S. | If possible I shd. be glad of one line by Post on Monday, on account of money, as it possible, though not probable, that I might wish to go to British Assocn: at Oxford on Wednesday afternoon.4

Post from here to Alford ought to take only one day.

Footnotes

1
Higgins’s letter has not been found. It was a reply to the letter to John Higgins, 13 June [1860].
2
William Erasmus Darwin intended to visit the farm before CD decided whether to purchase it (see letter to John Higgins, 13 June [1860]).
3
Anwick village, near Sleaford, Lincolnshire, is about 35 miles from Alford, where Higgins lived.
4
See letter to Charles Lyell, 25 [June 1860].

Summary

Places affair [land purchase] entirely in JH’s hands. Son [William?] will visit in a week or two.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-2840
From
Darwin, C. R.
To
Higgins, John
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Lincolnshire Record Office
Physical description
5pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2840,” accessed on 30 September 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-2840

letter