skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To A. C. Ramsay   23 February [1860]1

Down Bromley Kent

Feby. 23d

Dear Ramsay

I must write a line to say how sincerely rejoiced I am to hear that your health is nearly reestablished. I remember Sir H. Holland telling me that a gradual & slow recovery of health was always better than a sudden jump.2 I am extremely much pleased to hear that you like my Book. I look at every geological believer of the mutation of species as a most important gain.— There will be a long & stiff battle before such doctrines are generally admitted. The progress of subject will now depend far more on such men as yourself than on anything I can do.—

You put, as it seems to me, the general arguments against the eternal immutability of species with great clearness.—

With very sincere thanks for your note. | Believe me | Yours very truly | C. Darwin

I hope to be in London in a day or two & will call at Museum for chance of seeing you.—3

Footnotes

Dated by the relationship to the letter from A. C. Ramsay, 21 February 1860.
Henry Holland, a distant relative of CD’s, was a prominent London physician.
The Museum of Practical Geology, located in Jermyn Street, London, was run by the Geological Survey of Great Britain. Ramsay was the local director for Great Britain and a lecturer at the Government School of Mines. Emma Darwin’s diary records that CD went to London on 27 February 1860.

Summary

Pleased ACR likes Origin. Every geological believer is most important. A long, stiff battle is ahead for the new doctrine.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-2711
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Andrew Crombie Ramsay
Sent from
Down
Source of text
DAR 261.9: 2 (EH 88205975)
Physical description
4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2711,” accessed on 18 July 2019, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-2711.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 8

letter