skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Higgins   25 December 1854

Down Farnborough Kent

Christmas Day 54/

My dear Sir

I am much obliged for your note & account, & I beg to acknowledge the receipt of £217 : s 16 : d 8 placed to my account at the Union Bank.—1

I wish all your large Family Party a happy Christmas: as for myself we have had a gloomy for I have had two of my little Boys very ill with Fever & Inflammation,2 but they are at last, thank God, better.

My dear Sir | Yours very truly | Ch. R. Darwin John Higgins Esqe

Footnotes

The rent of the Beesby farm, Lincolnshire. CD’s Investment book (Down House MS) shows an entry of £ 218 11s. 8d. The discrepancy is explained by an entry in CD’s Account book (Down House MS) on 24 December recording a payment of 15s. to: ‘Mr Higgins Alford Agricultural Club’.
Francis and Leonard Darwin (see ‘Journal’; Correspondence vol. 5, Appendix I). CD’s Health diary (Down House MS) recorded from 14 to 29 December: ‘Children Ill.—’. Emma Darwin recorded in her diary that Leonard and Francis came home unwell from Sarah Wedgwood’s on 13 and 15 December respectively. On 22 December, she recorded: ‘Franky’s fit’.

Summary

Discusses his account. Mentions health of children.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-1615
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
John Higgins
Sent from
Down
Source of text
Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/83)
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1615,” accessed on 19 June 2019, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-1615

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 5

letter