skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. B. Tegetmeier   18 February 1874

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

Feb 18. 1874

My dear Sir

You have, as usual, answered my query distinctly & fully.1 Pray thank your informants for the information which I was very anxious to obtain. I believe “Stonehenge” is the brother of the late Mr Walsh of the U. States, for whom I felt great respect, & whose loss is much to be deplored.2

I am very sorry to hear about your state of health, & I sincerely hope it may soon improve. Thanks for the article about the hairy men: I recd some time ago, from Prof. Brandt of St Petersburg, an account of them.3

Believe me | yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


See letter from W. B. Tegetmeier, 17 February 1874. CD had enquired about the number of each sex born and preserved in litters of dogs and other animals.
John Henry Walsh, who wrote under the pen name Stonehenge, was the brother of Benjamin Dann Walsh, a correspondent of CD’s who died in 1869.
See letter from W. B. Tegetmeier, 17 February 1874 and n. 4. CD cited Alexander von Brandt for this information in Descent 2d ed., p. 19 n. 41.


Thanks for answering his query on greyhound puppies.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Sent from
Source of text
Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9300,” accessed on 19 August 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22