skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Federico Delpino   24 and 25 August [1869]1

Down. | Beckenham | Kent. S.E.

Aug 24th

Dear Sir

I am very much obliged to you for your kind present of your three publications.— I will send the duplicates “from the Author” to the Linnean Society, where they are most likely to be appreciated.2 It is a bitter grief to me that I cannot read Italian; for I am sure that I shd. feel the greatest interest in your works; but my wife will translate parts to me.— I am particularly pleased that you have discussed pangenesis, though I find that you are by no means favourable to this hypothesis. I will send it to a person, whom I employ, to be carefully translated; & after reading the translation will endeavour to find some Scientific Review in which it may be published.—3

With my best thanks & much respect, I remain | Dear Sir | Yours faithfully | Ch. Darwin

P.S. Since the above was written I have just received your very kind letter of Aug 22d with all its too honouring & complementary remarks on my works.— I again return you my very sincere thanks.—

Aug 25th


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Federico Delpino, 22 August 1869.
CD refers to Delpino 1869a. A translation of the article was published in parts in the 29 September, 6 October, and 13 October 1869 issues of Scientific Opinion (Delpino 1869b).


Thanks FD for his three publications.

CD is pleased that FD has discussed Pangenesis, although he does not favour the hypothesis. Will seek English publisher.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Federico Delpino
Sent from
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.376)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6869,” accessed on 22 January 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17