Letter icon
Letter 982

Darwin, C. R. to Darwin, Emma

[24 June 1846]

    Summary Add

  • +

    News of progress in remodelling. He and Etty [Henrietta] miss the rest of the family.

  • +

    Was sick, but "two pills of opium righted me".

Transcription

[Down]

Wednesday

My dearest old Soul

I was exceedingly glad to get your letter, with so wonderfully good an account of your voyage & of the dear little souls happiness; I am glad you took them. Do you not think you had better come back by land? & had you better not stay more than a fortnight, I propose it to you in bonâ fide & wish you to do so, though I do long to have mine own wife back again. Yesterday was gloomy & stormy; I was sick in middle of day, but two pills of opium righted me surprisingly afterwards: however I was extremely glad that Sulivan did not make his appearance. The house is getting on well, though Lewis had a quarrel & turned off all his carpenters: Lucy was very goodnatured & took keen interest about one man, whose wife has come from a distance with a Baby & is taken very ill— The poor man was crying with misery, but we have persuaded Lewis to take him back again.

At last the flower garden is looking gay.—

I have been getting on very badly with my work as it has been extremely difficult & I have had so many letters to write.—

Etty was very charming, though I did not see much of her yesterday; she is very affectionate to her dolls, but at last got tired of them, & declared with great emphasis, that “she would have a real live Baby” & “Mamma shall buy one for me”— I asked to send a message to you, “say A. B. S, say, big woman in little letter”

Give my very best love to all at Penailly I enclose A. Sarah's letter; I have strongly recommended to bring Henry, but can not repeat all reasons: I have spoken doubtfully about Horse & Phaeton.

Goodbye, my own old dearest. Kiss the children for me. Etty often talks about them. | Your affect. | C. D.

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 982.f1
    The date is based on Emma's notation ‘I at Tenby’ and the notation on letter to Emma Darwin, [25 June 1846], ‘June 1846 to me at Tenby’. The date also accords with the end of Bartholomew James Sulivan's voyage on 19 June 1846.
  • +
    f2 982.f2
    Emma took William and Anne Darwin to Tenby, a seaside resort and fishing village in Wales. Several of Emma's aunts lived there: Emma and Fanny Allen, Jessie Sismondi, and Harriet Surtees. Emma and the children stayed for eighteen days, returning home by 7 July. See CD's Account Book (Down House MS) 7 July 1846 and letter to Emma Darwin, [25 June 1846].
  • +
    f3 982.f3
    Sulivan had just returned from South America. Possibly CD had invited Sulivan to come to Down before meeting him in London on 29 June. See letter to Richard Owen, 21 [June 1846].
  • +
    f4 982.f4
    According to CD's Account Book (Down House MS) payments of £150 and £199 for alterations were made to ‘Mr Laslett’ on 13 June and 27 August 1846. Isaac Laslett was the bricklayer in Down.
  • +
    f5 982.f5
    John Lewis. See letter to Emma Darwin, [3–4 February 1845], n. 5.
  • +
    f6 982.f6
    Presumably a servant at Down House.
  • +
    f7 982.f7
    Henrietta Emma, who was almost three years old.
  • +
    f8 982.f8
    Sarah Elizabeth (Sarah) Wedgwood, CD and Emma's aunt.
  • +
    f9 982.f9
    Probably a reference to Sarah Wedgwood's plans to move to Down in 1847. Here she lived the life of a recluse and, according to Henrietta Litchfield, ‘her horse and phaeton seemed to be kept entirely for our service’ (Emma Darwin 2: 105). Henry Hemmings was one of Sarah Wedgwood's servants (Emma Darwin 2: 106).
Maximized view Print letter