Letter icon
Letter 7351

Farrer, T. H. to Darwin, C. R.

27 Oct 1870

Summary

Returning CD’s books.

Sympathises with women’s lot in life.

Transcription

Abinger Hall, | Reigate. (Post Town) | Gomshall (Station) S.E.R.

27 Oct 1870

My dear Mr Darwin

I am sending you back those of your books which I have here—viztfour of Delpinos—f1 The rest shall come back when we get toLondon where they are—f2 One of the “Atti” of the Italian Società desScienze Naturali which you have marked as an useless duplicate I keep.f3

Alas! when will time come for these things. I find every day fulland human beings little & big require the time and attention one wouldwillingly give to flowers. Not that the former are less interesting intheir way. but one grudges the infinite number of small things to bedone, & feels sympathy with womens lot in life. Surely the fact thatthey have all the little daily things to do is enough to account fortheir not succeeding in work requiring devotion & abstraction

Sincerly yours | T H Farrer

C Darwin Esqre

DAR 164: 66

true

Footnotes

f1
The books and pamphlets of Federico Delpino’s that Farrer borrowedfrom CD may have included Delpino 1867b, 1867c, 1869a, and the firstpart of Delpino 1868–74 (see Marginalia 1: 191–2). The firstthree are in the Darwin Pamphlet Collection–CUL, and the last is inthe Darwin Library–CUL.
f2
Farrer also maintained a house at Gloucester Terrace, Regent’s Park(see letter from T. H. Farrer, 5 June 1870).
f3
Farrer may be referring to Delpino 1867a, published in Atti dellaSocietà Italiana delle Scienze Naturali in Milano. A copy is in theDarwin Archive–CUL.
Maximized viewPrint letter