Letter icon
Letter 701

Henslow, J. S. to Darwin, C. R.

9 Oct 1843

    Summary Add

  • +

    Thinks W. Kemp's specimens are all common varieties of living species of Atriplex.

Transcription

H. H. S [Hitcham Hadleigh Suffolk]

9 Oct 1843

My dear Darwin,

Specimens from Mr Kemp incline me to think that the supposed A. hastata will turn out after all to be only a strange var. of Atriplex patula a very common plant in waste lands— His other two are equally common viz. Polygonum convolvulus & aviculare— I trust there is no mistake about the seeds of these plants being in the soil he used— They are all 3 great gardening & agricultural pests— I have been so deep in the Tumulus that I have not had time to think about your quere which I will do as soon as I can— I managed to restore the Glass Urn & made a model of the brick vault— The whole was exhibited as a 1s/– show (!) at the Bury Bazaar on Saturday & realized more than 25£—which is turning a sight to some profit— They are to occupy a permanent position in the house of the Gent— on whose property they were found—

Joy of a new daughter & congratulations to Mrs D.

D for ever!

D. d. &Dgr;. &dgr;. I don't know Hebrew or would go on— I forgot D. d.

Ever Yrs truly | J S Henslow

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 701.f1
    Henslow had discovered a Roman tomb near Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk. He described the find in Henslow 1843b.
  • +
    f2 701.f2
    An allusion to CD's children who are referred to as little ‘d’s (see Correspondence vol. 3, letter to Leonard Jenyns, [14 or 21 August 1846]). Before and during the Beagle voyage, CD used a seal engraved with an italic, capital ‘D’.
Maximized view Print letter