Letter icon
Letter 6924

Darwin, C. R. to Haeckel, E. P. A.

3 Oct [1869]

    Summary Add

  • +

    Mentions views of Sars on species.

  • +

    EH's work on Siphonophora.

Transcription

Down. | Beckenham | Kent. S.E.

Oct. 3d

My dear Häckel

I received this morning your letter of the 29th. & am heartily glad that you have had so successful an expedition. You give a very pleasant account of all your doings. It is, also, very satisfactory to hear from you of so many naturalists who believe in our views. I am particularly glad to hear about Sars, for whom I have always felt an unbounded respect.

I received some time ago your Siphonophoren, & have admired the exquisite Plates; but I have not yet had time to read any as yet, though it now stands as the top book of a pile next to be read. I am very much obliged to you for telling me of the pages, in the work & in your memoir on Sponges, for, as you know, I am a very poor German scholar, & alas shall never improve.

Do not work yourself to death or sickness.

Let your wife sing that into your ears night & day.— I have forwarded your letter & papers to Mr. Norman.—

My dear Häckel | Yours most truly | C. Darwin

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 6924.f1
    The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Ernst Haeckel, 29 September 1869.
  • +
    f2 6924.f2
    See letter from Ernst Haeckel, 29 September 1869.
  • +
    f3 6924.f3
    Michael Sars.
  • +
    f4 6924.f4
    CD refers to Zur Entwicklungsgeschichte der Siphonophoren (On the developmental history of siphonophores; Haeckel 1869a) and `Ueber den Organismus der Schwamme und ihre Verwandtschaft mit den Corallen' (Haeckel 1869b), which was later translated as `On the organisation of sponges, and their relationship to the corals' (Haeckel 1870a). See letter from Ernst Haeckel, 29 September 1869 and nn. 7 and 9.
  • +
    f5 6924.f5
    Agnes Haeckel.
  • +
    f6 6924.f6
    Alfred Merle Norman. See letter from Ernst Haeckel, 29 September 1869 and n. 4.
Maximized view Print letter