Letter icon
Letter 6526

Darwin, C. R. to Bryceson Brothers & Co.

[after June 1868?]

    Summary Add

  • +

    Reports the whereabouts of S. J. O'H. Horsman, who has failed to pay for an organ he ordered.

Transcription

Sir

As I am informed that you have not received full payment for the organ, which was ordered by the Revd Mr Horsman for the church of this Parish, & as I am further informed that you very properly wish to sue him, I write to say that I have been told that his address is 1 Elm Court Temple G. But I suspect that this address is only for letters. Some months ago my servant saw him repeatedly in the neighbourhood of Cavendish Sqr, & I have just learned by an odd accident that the address where he lives or did recently live is 20 Harley St. Cavendish Sq, & there he could possibly be caught. I shd be glad if the information -- of any service to you in recovering your just debt & in punishing the man.

Sir | Your obd servt | Ch. Darwin

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 6526.f1
    The date is conjectured by the relationship between this letter and the letter to J. B. Innes, 15 June [1868], and by the date of CD's visit to his brother in March 1868 (see nn. 2 and 4, below).
  • +
    f2 6526.f2
    In his letter to J. B. Innes, 15 June [1868], CD had proposed writing to Messrs Bryceson concerning payment for the new organ, after it had been suggested that the curate, Samuel James O'Hara Horsman had `pocketed the money & never paid for it'.
  • +
    f3 6526.f3
    The return address on Horsman's letter of 2 June [1868] was 1 Elm Court, Edward Keogh Esqre. Keogh is listed as a barrister at this address (Post Office London directory 1868).
  • +
    f4 6526.f4
    CD had been in London from 3 March until 1 April 1868, staying for the first week at the house of his brother, Erasmus Alvey Darwin, at 6 Queen Anne street, Cavendish Square (see `Journal' (Correspondence vol. 16, Appendix II)).
Maximized view Print letter