Letter icon
Letter 6113

Darwin, C. R. to Walsh, B. D.

13 Apr [1868]

    Summary Add

  • +

    BDW's letter [6051?] and his notes are a "mine of wealth". The negative evidence is of much value. Sexual selection is a perplexing subject – finds he "must make the best of a rather bad job".

  • +

    Sends copy [of Variation].

Transcription

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

April 13th

My dear Sir

It was extremely kind of you after being ill & overworked with your Report to take so much trouble in looking through your collection & writing me such copious & minute notes. I value your information much, as I well know that you are so trustworthy. Not only are many of the facts, which you communicate, very interesting to me; but the negative evidence is of much value, for I was very doubtful how far I could trust the information, which I picked up from various Books & papers. Many of the English entomologists, however, have been most kind in assisting me in various ways. I have found my present subject of Sexual Selection very perplexing, & I must leave a multitude of points doubtful, & can seldom judge except by analogy. But I must make the best of a rather bad job.—

I hope that you will soon receive or have received my new Book, which I have lately heard, is to be republished in the U. States.— It is much too large a book, but if I had to do it again, I hardly know what I ought to strike out.— I see by the heading of your letter that you still retain your Editorship, which I fear you must find very hard work.—

With cordial thanks, My dear Sir | Yours sincerely | C. Darwin

I have just read again your letter & it really is a mine of wealth to me.—

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 6113.f1
    See letter from B. D. Walsh, 25 March 1868 and enclosure.
  • +
    f2 6113.f2
    CD had recently received information on insects from Henry Walter Bates, Alfred Russel Wallace, Henry Tibbats Stainton, Roland Trimen, Alexander Wallace, and John Jenner Weir.
  • +
    f3 6113.f3
    The first US edition of Variation was published in April 1868 by Orange Judd & Co., a firm that specialised in agricultural works (see letter from George Thurber, 18--20 April 1868).
  • +
    f4 6113.f4
    Walsh was editor of the Practical Entomologist; the journal ceased publication in 1868 (ANB).
Maximized view Print letter