Letter icon
Letter 599

Darwin, C. R. to Jenyns, Leonard

24 June [1841]

    Summary Add

  • +

    Doctors predict it will take years for CD's constitution to recover.

Transcription

Maer Hall | Newcastle Staffordshire

Dear Jenyns

I have been scandalously indolent in not sooner answering your kind enquiries about me & mine. The country at first acted like magic on me, but the charm has latterly lost some of its virtue, I am, however, a good deal stronger than when in London, but I do not feel that I shall have any mental energy for a long time & the Doctors tell me, it will be some years, before my constitution will recover itself— You & I can tell people in health, they have little idea, what an unspeakable advantage they possess over us poor weak wretches.— I judge from your note that Hitcham acted on your health, somewhat like this place did on mine, that is as a temporary relief.—

I can only repeat, what I have said before to beg you not to give yourself any anxiety to hurry forward your part,; let it come when it may. I feel sure it & all the other numbers, (whatever you may say to the contrary) will be good durable work.— I have lately had note from Bell, who has matter for Engraver's ready, but alas says nothing about M.S. for Printers.— But I have made up my mind not to fret myself on the subject, & just take things easy.—

I earnestly hope your health may improve as the summer passes & follow my & Bells example & take your Fish Part easy.

Believe me dear Jenyns | Most truly your's | C. Darwin
June 24th

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 599.f1
    CD visited Maer and Shrewsbury from 28 May to 23 July 1841 (‘Journal’; Correspondence vol. 2, Appendix II).
  • +
    f2 599.f2
    Jenyns had evidently been visiting the Henslows. His sister Harriet was Henslow's wife.
  • +
    f3 599.f3
    Fish, No. 4, was not published until April 1842.
  • +
    f4 599.f4
    CD refers to Reptiles, by Thomas Bell.
Maximized view Print letter