Letter icon
Letter 5750

Blyth, Edward to Darwin, C. R.

[after 3 Feb 1868]

    Summary Add

  • +

    Recommends J. Scott's paper on crossing varieties of Verbascum.

Transcription

P.S. Have you seen an excellent paper by my friend Mr. Scott, of the Calcutta Bot. Garden, on the gradations of fertility in crossed varieties of Verbascum, in the Journ As. Soc. B., No III, pt II, for 1867? I have lent my copy just now, but can send it to you if you wish it. The No. contains some other interesting notices of Indian animals, though less in your particular way.— Did I mention that I procured a few days ago, three genuine wild canaries all but direct from the ship, & much greyer than any I have seen before? I fancy however, they are both hens.

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 5750.f1
    The date is established by the reference to Scott 1867, which was published on 3 February 1868.
  • +
    f2 5750.f2
    Blyth refers to John Scott and Scott 1867, which appeared in the Journal of the Asiatic Society of Bengal. Scott had sent CD a draft of his article on Verbascum in 1864. Scott's work on the paper had been interrupted when he left his position at the Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh, in order to seek employment in India (see Correspondence vol. 12). CD summarised Scott's experiments in Variation 2: 106--7.
  • +
    f3 5750.f3
    Blyth refers to Blanford 1867.
  • +
    f4 5750.f4
    In his letter of 4 January 1868, Blyth mentioned having two wild male canaries from Madeira, and also one found in Britain.
Maximized view Print letter