Letter icon
Letter 5365

Darwin, C. R. to Sulivan, B. J.

15 Jan [1867]

    Summary Add

  • +

    Thanks BJS for W. H. Stirling's answers [to queries about expression]

  • +

    and for information on cattle and breeding of dogs.

Transcription

Down Bromley | Kent.

Jan 15

My dear Sulivan

I am extremely much obliged to you for getting me Mr Sterling's answers. They are of much interest to me. I had quite forgotten that I had previously sent nearly the same questions: the answer about the breeding of the dogs comes in very useful just now that I am writing upon domestic animals. Many thanks also about the white cattle.

I am very glad you were so kind as to call on my son William; he does not have many holidays, but if he cd spare the time I am sure he wd enjoy seeing you at Bournemouth.

My dear Sulivan, | yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 5365.f1
    The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from B. J. Sulivan, 11 January 1867.
  • +
    f2 5365.f2
    In his letter of 11 January 1867, Sulivan enclosed responses from Thomas Bridges regarding the mannerisms and facial expressions of Fuegians, conveyed by Waite Hockin Stirling; these responses are published in Correspondence vol. 8, letter from Thomas Bridges, [October 1860 or after]. CD cited information from Bridges at least four times in Expression, and in Descent 2: 351 n. For the queries that CD had forgotten he had sent, see Correspondence vol. 8, letter to Thomas Bridges, 6 January 1860; see also, this volume, letter from B. J. Sulivan, 11 January 1867 and nn. 2 and 3. The latest list of queries that CD sent to Sulivan has not been found.
  • +
    f3 5365.f3
    The section on breeding dogs is in a missing section of Bridges's reply (see Correspondence vol. 8, letter from Thomas Bridges, [October 1860 or after]); however, see Variation 2: 207 for the information that Bridges sent. In his letter, Bridges also wrote that, to make their dogs lighter, the Fuegians cut off their tails while they were puppies; CD mentioned the remark in Variation 1: 39.
  • +
    f4 5365.f4
    See letter from B. J. Sulivan, 11 January 1867 and nn. 4 and 5.
  • +
    f5 5365.f5
    CD refers to William Erasmus Darwin; see letter from B. J. Sulivan, 11 January 1867 and n. 6.
Maximized view Print letter