Letter icon
Letter 5053

Darwin, E. A. to Darwin, C. R.

10 Apr [1866]

    Summary Add

  • +

    Has been offered proof impressions of Maguire's portrait of CD.

  • +

    Sorry to hear of CD's "heap of maladies".

  • +

    Georgina [Tollet?] wants to see the review in the Quarterly Journal of Science [3 (1866): 151–76].

Transcription

10 April—

Dear Charles

A man has sent to offer me ``two most beautiful autographic Proof impressions of the portrait of C D Esq by Maguire'' 7/6

What are they?

I was sorry to hear of your heap of maladies & I suppose I shant see you till I dont know when

E D

Georgina wished me to ask you to bring with you the Quarterly Journal of Science with the Review upon yourself—

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 5053.f1
    The year is established by the reference to the review of CD's works in the Quarterly Journal of Science (see n. 5, below).
  • +
    f2 5053.f2
    CD's portrait had been drawn by Thomas Herbert Maguire in 1849 as part of a series commissioned for Ipswich Museum; a limited number of prints were issued for public sale (see Correspondence vol. 4). It is reproduced in Calendar, p. viii.
  • +
    f3 5053.f3
    See letter to J. D. Hooker, [9 April 1866] and n. 2. CD had planned to visit Erasmus in London (see letter to J. D. Hooker, [5 April 1866] and n. 3).
  • +
    f4 5053.f4
    Georgina Tollet, a friend of the Darwin and Wedgwood families, lived near Erasmus at 14 Queen Anne Street, London (Freeman 1978).
  • +
    f5 5053.f5
    The article `Darwin and his teachings' appeared in the April 1866 issue of the Quarterly Journal of Science (Anon. 1866). See letter from James Samuelson, 8 April 1866.
Maximized view Print letter