Letter icon
Letter 4600

Hooker, J. D. to Darwin, C. R.

26 Aug 1864
  •  

Higher resolution and downloadable images available from Cambridge Digital Library

    Summary Add

  • +

    Hookers and Lyells will visit Lubbocks so he cannot see CD in London.

  • +

    Will CD sit for Woolner?

Transcription

Royal Gardens Kew

Aug 26/64.

My dear Darwin

I am delighted to hear you are well enough to come to London— As ill-luck will have it I go to Lubbocks tomorrow till Monday or I would try to see you on Sunday

The Bignonia is nothing but B. Unguis the Jasminum is J. pauciflorum Benth. of West Africa.

Thanks for Beer. all safe

The Lyells dine with us on Monday at 7—& will be here at 4 or 5 to walk in Gardens.

When you do come—there is a train from Camden Town (close by you) all the way to Kew Bridge—

How about sitting to Woolner,? he is to be married on 6th. September— how are you disposed & able?

Ever yrs affec | J D Hooker

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 4600.f1
    See letter to J. D. Hooker, [23 August 1864] and n. 2.
  • +
    f2 4600.f2
    Hooker refers to John Lubbock, who lived in Chislehurst, Kent, a village about five miles north of Down.
  • +
    f3 4600.f3
    See letter to J. D. Hooker, 11 August [1864] and n. 4, and following letter.
  • +
    f4 4600.f4
    See memorandum to J. D. Hooker, [24 July 1864?] and n. 5.
  • +
    f5 4600.f5
    Beer 1863. See letter to J. D. Hooker, [23 August 1864] and n. 9.
  • +
    f6 4600.f6
    Hooker refers to Charles and Mary Elizabeth Lyell.
  • +
    f7 4600.f7
    CD did not visit the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, during his stay in London (see letter to J. D. Hooker, [1 September 1864]).
  • +
    f8 4600.f8
    The reference is to the sculptor Thomas Woolner. Hooker had suggested that CD sit for Woolner in December 1863 (see Correspondence vol. 11, letter from Emma Darwin to J. D. Hooker, 26 December [1863]). CD did not sit for Woolner until 1868 (see letter to J. D. Hooker, 26 November [1868] (Calendar no. 6476)).
  • +
    f9 4600.f9
    The references are to the novels Beppo the conscript (T. A. Trollope 1864) and Quits (Tautphoeus 1857). See letter to J. D. Hooker, [1 September 1864].
Maximized view Print letter