Letter icon
Letter 4304

Darwin, Emma to Scott, John

24 Sept [1863]

    Summary Add

  • +

    JS's MS [of Primula paper] arrived, but CD is too ill to read it.

  • +

    CD has sent JS's paper on orchid sterility to Botanische Zeitung and to Hooker.

Transcription

Malvern Wells

Sep. 24

Dear Sir

Mr Darwin desires me to say that your M.S. is safely arrived & as there is no chance of his being able to study it for several weeks would you like it returned to you or shall he keep it?

I am dear Sir | yours truly | E. Darwin

Mr Darwin desires me to thank you for the papers on Sterility of Orchids. He sent one to the Botanische Zeitung & one to Dr Hooker, but he has not heard from Dr Hooker since.

The first thing Mr D can apply his mind to shall be your paper but I am afraid that it must be some time first.

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 4304.f1
    The year is established by the address; according to Emma Darwin's diary (DAR 242), CD stayed at Malvern Wells, Worcestershire, from 3 September to 12 or 13 October 1863.
  • +
    f2 4304.f2
    The reference is to the manuscript of Scott 1864a, which Scott had sent to CD for comment (see letter from John Scott, 21 September [1863]).
  • +
    f3 4304.f3
    Scott 1863a; see letter from John Scott, 21 September [1863].
  • +
    f4 4304.f4
    The reference is to Joseph Dalton Hooker; see letter from John Scott, 21 September [1863] and n. 5.
  • +
    f5 4304.f5
    See letter to John Scott, 7 November [1863].
Maximized view Print letter