Letter icon
Letter 4180

Darwin, C. R. to Hooker, J. D.

23 May [1863]
  •  

Higher resolution and downloadable images available from Cambridge Digital Library

    Summary Add

  • +

    Seeks advice for John Scott on job offer in India.

Transcription

Down

May 23d

My dear Hooker

You can confer a real service on a good man, John Scott, the writer of the enclosed letter, by reading it & giving me your opinion.— I assure John Scott is a truly remarkable man.— The part struck out is merely that he is not comfortable under Mr. Macnab, & this part must be considered as private. Now question is what think of you of the offer? Is expence of living high at Darjeeling? I may say it is healthy?— Will he find opportunity for experimental observations which are a passion with him.? It seems to me rather low pay. Will you advise me for him?—

I shall say that as far as experiments in hand at Bot. Garden in Edinburgh are concerned, it would be a pity to hesitate to accept the offer.— J. Scott is head of propagating department. I know you will not grudge aiding by your advice a good man.— I shall tell him that I have not slightest power to aid him in any way for appointment—

Yours affecly | C. Darwin

I shd. think voyage out & home ought to be paid for??

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 4180.f1
    Letter from John Scott, 22 May 1863. CD was seeking advice on John Scott's behalf about a situation Scott had been offered in Darjeeling, India. See also following letter.
  • +
    f2 4180.f2
    James McNab was curator of the Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh, and Scott's immediate superior.
  • +
    f3 4180.f3
    Hooker had visited Darjeeling in April 1848 (J. D. Hooker 1854b, 1: 114--15). See also Correspondence vol. 4, letter from J. D. Hooker, 20 February -- 16 [March] 1848.
  • +
    f4 4180.f4
    See letter from John Scott, 22 May 1863 and n. 5.
Maximized view Print letter