Letter icon
Letter 3972

Darwin, C. R. to Naudin, C. V.

7 Feb 1863

    Summary Add

  • +

    Thanks for informative letter of 2 February. CD is glad to have CVN's opinion on the crossing of varieties of melons,

  • +

    has made use of his memoir on the Cucurbitaceae ["Cucurbitacées cultivées au Muséum d'Histoire Naturelle en 1862", Ann. Sci. Nat. (Bot.) 18 (1863): 159–208]

  • +

    and anticipates with great interest his work on hybridisation.

Transcription

le 7 f´evrier 1863

Cher Monsieur,

Une absence de chez moi m'a emp´ech´e de vous offrir mes remercimen(t)s sinc`er(e)s pour la peine que vous avez pris(e) en m'´ecrivant votre lettre du 2 F´evrier si remplie d'information(s) d'une si grande valeur.

Il me fait grand plaisir d'avoir votre opinion (autant que vous ˆetes capable de l'exprimer) sur le croisement des vari´et´es de Melons; et je m'en servirai pour l(a) citer.

R´ecemment j'ai fait grand usage de vos M´emoires admirables sur les Cucurbitacae, autant pour la citation que pour m'informer. Je vous remercie bien de votre intention de m'envoyer votre nouveau M´emoire. J'anticipe avec grand int´erˆet votre ouvrage sur l'Hybridation.

Agr´eez mes remerciements cordi(aux) pour votre extrˆeme bont´e et croyez moi, avec beaucoup de respect, votre tr`es ob´eissant serviteur.

Charles Darwin.

Translation

7 February 1863

Dear Sir,

An absence from home has prevented me from offering you my sincere thanks for the trouble that you took in writing your letter of February 2, so full of such valuable information.

It pleases me greatly to have your opinion (as far as you are able to express it) on the crossing of varieties of melons; and I will use it in quotations.

Recently I made extensive use of your admirable study of the Cucurbitacae, as much as a source of quotations as for my own information. I thank you sincerely for your intention of sending me your latest paper. I look forward with great interest to your work on hybridisation.

Please accept my cordial thanks for your great kindness and believe me, with much respect, your most obedient servant.

Charles Darwin

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 3972.f1
    For a translation of this letter, see Appendix I.
  • +
    f2 3972.f2
    Naudin's letter has not been found. CD was in London from 4 to 14 February 1863, staying at Erasmus Alvey Darwin's house at 6 Queen Anne Street (see `Journal' (Correspondence vol. 11, Appendix II)).
  • +
    f3 3972.f3
    CD had sent a memorandum to Naudin requesting information on crossing varieties of melon (see Correspondence vol. 10, letter to J. D. Hooker, 24 December [1862], and this volume, letter from J. D. Hooker, 24 January 1863). CD cited Naudin's study of varieties of melon (Naudin 1859) in Variation 1: 359--60. CD's notes on Naudin 1859 are preserved in DAR 205.7 (2): 146. CD cited additional information supplied by Naudin in Variation 2: 108.
  • +
    f4 3972.f4
    CD refers to Naudin 1856 and 1862. In discussing the variations of cucurbitaceous plants in Variation 1: 357--60, CD quoted extensively from Naudin's experiments on the genus Cucurbita (Naudin 1856). CD's notes on Naudin's article are in DAR 205.7 (2): 141. CD wrote a draft of this chapter between October and December 1862 (see Correspondence vol. 10, Appendix II); it dealt with variation in fruits, ornamental trees, and flowers.
  • +
    f5 3972.f5
    Naudin may have referred to his forthcoming publication on hybridity (Naudin 1863). There is an annotated copy in the Darwin Pamphlet Collection--CUL.
  • +
    f6 3972.f6
    Naudin's researches on the hybridisation of plants were published in Naudin 1863 and 1865, of which there are annotated copies in the Darwin Library--CUL. For Naudin 1865, see Marginalia 1: 638--9. CD's opinion of Naudin's work is discussed in Correspondence vol. 10, letter to J. D. Hooker, 30 [June 1862], and letter to Asa Gray, 1 July [1862].
  • +
    f7 3972.f7
    A footnote in Blaringhem 1913, p. 94, notes that only the signature of this letter is in CD's hand.
Maximized view Print letter