Letter icon
Letter 3412

Bates, H. W. to Darwin, C. R.

25 Jan 1862

    Summary Add

  • +

    Thanks CD for returned MS and letter with its good opinion. Asks CD to write to Murray.

Transcription

King St Leicester

25 Jany 1862

My Dear Sir

I found the returned M.S & your kind letter when I came home after 8 days stay in town chiefly occupied by studies relative to the travels. I hope your good opinion of the 2nd chapter will be equally merited by the rest. I will now trouble you to write to Mr. Murray, as there is quite enough ready for him to form an opinion of the work.

I will not write more at the present time— The complaint which I heard in London has afflicted your family has extended to here— I am now suffering from a kind of influenza with some symtoms of an old ague but it has not upset me completely at present

Yours sincerely | H W Bates

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 3412.f1
    Bates refers to the manuscript of the second chapter of his book describing his experiences as a naturalist in the Amazon region of South America, which he had sent to CD for comment (see letter to H. W. Bates, 13 January [1862]).
  • +
    f2 3412.f2
    CD had offered to write to his publisher, John Murray, recommending Bates's manuscript (see Correspondence vol. 9, letter to H. W. Bates, 25 September [1861]). Murray published the work the following year (Bates 1863).
  • +
    f3 3412.f3
    According to Henry Holland, influenza was `very rife both in London & the country' (see letter from Henry Holland, 15 January [1862]).
Maximized view Print letter