Letter icon
Letter 2523

Darwin, C. R. to Candolle, Alphonse de

11 Nov [1859]

    Summary Add

  • +

    Sends Origin as testimony to great benefit CD derived from AdeC's works on distribution.

Transcription

Down Bromley Kent [Ilkley]

Nov. 11th

Dear Sir

I have thought that you would permit me to send you (by Messrs Williams & Norgate Booksellers) a copy of my work (as yet only an abstract) on the Origin of Species. I wish to do this, as the only though quite inadequate manner by which I can testify to you, the extreme interest which I have felt, & the great advantage, which I have derived, from studying your grand & noble work on Geographical Distribution. Should you be induced to read my volume, I venture to remark that it will be intelligible only by reading the whole straight through, as it is very much condensed. It would be a high gratification to me, if any portion interested you.— But I am perfectly well aware, that you will entirely disagree with the conclusion, at which I have arrived.

You will probably have quite forgotten me; but many years ago you did me the honour of dining at my house in London to meet M. & Mad. Sismondi,—the uncle & aunt of my wife.—

With sincere respect, I beg leave to remain— | Yours very faithfully | Charles Darwin

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 2523.f1
    A. de Candolle 1855. For CD's comments on this work, see Correspondence vol. 5. CD's annotated copy is in the Darwin Library–CUL.
  • +
    f2 2523.f2
    The dinner took place in 1839 in CD's home in Gower Street, London (see Correspondence vol. 2, letter to Alphonse de Candolle, 25 May [1839]). The guests included Jean Charles Léonard Simonde de Sismondi, his wife Jessie (Emma Darwin's aunt), and John Stevens Henslow.
Maximized view Print letter