Letter icon
Letter 1791

Darwin, C. R. to Tegetmeier, W. B.

6 Dec [1855]

    Summary Add

  • +

    Variation in cats.

  • +

    Is comparing skeletons of poultry.

Transcription

Down Bromley Kent

Dec. 6th

My dear Sir

Thank you much for taking the trouble of sending me the canines, & which I hope will arrive safely, & for answering so fully my queries. I was interested by stumbling on 4 variations in the Cat, within the course of six weeks, viz long tails in W. Indies,—curiously backward sloping tails,—tufted ears, & your case.—

When I asked for the Ghoondok bird, I stupidly quite forgot that you would of course want it for your own work.— Pray do not think of troubling yourself to send me a M.S. account, for it will do exactly as well, or better, whenever you print.— At some future time, when I have got several skeletons together I daresay you would lend me the skeleton for a few days to compare with such others as I may have got together. Would you like to examine the head of my wild Jungle Fowl from India? But it would require a little cleaning.— I could send it in Box by Post, & you could return it same way, or leave it at my Brothers House at any time near Cavendish Square.— But I do not know whether it would aid you or not.— You could if you liked see whole skeleton, but this is too large for Post.—

With many thanks | Your's very truly | C. Darwin

I sometimes send little notices to Gardeners' Chronicle, but I have never communicated anything but trifles.—

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 1791.f1
    See letter to W. B. Tegetmeier, [2 December 1855], n. 2.
  • +
    f2 1791.f2
    See letter to W. B. Tegetmeier, [2 December 1855], n. 5.
  • +
    f3 1791.f3
    Tegetmeier 1856.
  • +
    f4 1791.f4
    Sent by Edward Blyth from India (letter from Edward Blyth, 22–3 August 1855). This was the wild Gallus bankiva, described in Variation 1: 233–6 as the possible ancestor of the domestic breeds of fowl.
Maximized view Print letter