Letter icon
Letter 14

Darwin, E. A. to Darwin, C. R.

[8 Mar 1825]

    Summary Add

  • +

    Asks CD to send him some books on physiology and natural history from the family library.

Transcription

[Cambridge]

My Dear Bobby,

Much obliged for yr letter, & lest I should forget as I did before, you may take Hunter or any other book you choose. If you wont be very angry I will send you once more into the plate-closet to hunt out some books, which you may send to me per Van carefully wrapt up. 1st. any or all of Cullen's Works, if they do not come to many vols, but at all events his Nosology & Practice of Physick. 2nd ye 1st vol 4to of Haller's Physiologia wh. you will find in ye top shelf, 3rdly any small work you can find of 1 or 2 vol 8vo on Physiology, & 4thly ye Mss catalogue of Books, in order that I may avoid procuring duplicates of any works, & 5thly if ye packet does not look very large send me Linnæi Systema Naturæ wh. is among ye books in ye Morning Room & unbound.

Apropos to Linnæus I wish you would look in ye English Systema Vegetab: & copy me out the specific description of Pinus sylvestris.

If the Dr should be at leizure I wish you would skim over the Mss Catalogue & see if there are any other works it would be worth while sending up.

I hope you dont object to schedule of jobs very grievously.

From whom did you hear about the rabbits foot, as your account was the first I heard about it?

Next week I am going to dine with Prof. Haviland when I shall probably pick up something or other, about Edinborough, wh. I will let you know.

The next time you go home please to let them know that I an alive & well, ye very same morning I received just such a letter from Susan, & I verily believe that I wrote last in both cases. I shall at all events be giving ye Dr a practical proof shortly that I am alive by sending for some money. Touching wh. The glass Bill has not been paid, try if you can to find the bill in my chest of drawers & have it done. The man's name is Johnson or Bery or both, I forget wh.

Good Bye give my love to Doctrss. P. & tell her she must not have Spark | E Darwin

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 14.f1
    The letter was originally addressed to `C. Darwin Esq., Dr. Butlers, Shrewsbury'. This was changed in a different hand and ink to read `Gas Darwin Esq.'. `Gas' was the nickname given to CD by his schoolmates because of his chemistry work with Erasmus (see Autobiography, p. 46).
  • +
    f2 14.f2
    Probably a reference to a work by either William Hunter, anatomist, or his brother, John Hunter, surgeon and anatomist. A copy of J. Hunter 1778 is in Darwin Library--Down.
  • +
    f3 14.f3
    Cullen 1814, Cullen 1776--84.
  • +
    f4 14.f4
    Haller 1757--66.
  • +
    f5 14.f5
    Above `Physiology' is written `Golias' in another hand, possibly CD's. `Golias' has not been identified.
  • +
    f6 14.f6
    Linnaeus 1789--96 (Darwin Library--Down).
  • +
    f7 14.f7
    Linnaeus 1783a.
  • +
    f8 14.f8
    John Haviland, Regius Professor of Medicine.
  • +
    f9 14.f9
    Their eldest sister, Marianne, had married Henry Parker, M.D. in November 1824.
Maximized view Print letter