Letter icon
Letter 13855

Darwin, C. R. to Wedgwood, Josiah, III

[May 1844]

    Summary Add

  • +

    Family financial matters.

Transcription

Wednesday

Dear Jos.

Emma tells me that you have or will have next week 600 or 700£ to pay over.— My Father has kindly offered to take 600£ more from me, would you therefore please to send this money if now ready, with some which you have to send from Aunt Sarah.; if not now ready, will you send it whenever it is ready.— If the sum is more than 600£, would you please to keep the difference till some future time.— My Father requests that you will be so kind, as to send him a copy of the same sort of receipt, which you had for the 1400£, & he will return it to you properly signed.— I forget, whether you require any document from Emma: if you do, wd you please to send us the form, & I will keep a copy of it, so that we need not trouble you again, as I utterly forget the sort of document, you formerly required about the Railway Shares.—

Yours affectionately | C. Darwin

    Footnotes Add

  • +
    f1 13855.f1
    Dated from an entry in Robert Waring Darwin's Investment Book, 1831–48 (Down House MS) in the account headed ‘Trust Money—Emma & Charles Darwin’, reading: ‘1844 Borrowed May 28 £600’. CD was at The Mount, his father's home in Shrewsbury, from 23 April to 30 May (‘Journal’; Correspondence vol. 3, Appendix II).
  • +
    f2 13855.f2
    Sarah Elizabeth (Sarah) Wedgwood, CD's aunt.
  • +
    f3 13855.f3
    A document, signed by Emma, requesting that railway shares be purchased from trust money left by her father is dated 16 October 1843 (Keele University Library, Mosley Collection). Josiah Wedgwood III was a trustee of CD and Emma's marriage settlement (see Correspondence vol. 2, letter from Josiah Wedgwood II and Emma Wedgwood to R. W. Darwin, 15 November 1838, n.1).
Maximized view Print letter