skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
in the full text  [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1855::02 in date [X]
7 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From Bartholomew James Sulivan   2 February [1855]

thumbnail

Summary

The only mainland vegetation he saw on Falkland Island shores were trees. Remembers no strange birds there, but on journey home saw a woodcock more than 500 miles from the nearest land.

Author:  Bartholomew James Sulivan
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Feb [1855]
Classmark:  DAR 205.2: 251
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1551

From [J. B. Innes]   [after 8 February – August 1855]

Summary

Provides another case of apparently pure bred pointers producing litter with one setter puppy. Correspondent was told that this occurred in several litters; gives names of owners and others who can corroborate the information.

Author:  John Brodie Innes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 8 Feb-Aug1855]
Classmark:  DAR 163: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13870

To T. H. Huxley   20 February [1855]

Summary

Sends specimens of sessile cirripedes for corroboration of their cementing apparatus.

Absence of anus in Brachiopoda and Alcippe cirripedes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  20 Feb [1855]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 23, 372, 376)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1635

From John Rae   21 February 1855

thumbnail

Summary

Comments on possibility of transport of seeds of Arctic plants by ice.

Author:  John Rae
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 Feb 1855
Classmark:  DAR 205.2: 249
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1636

To Francis Galton   22 February [1855]

Summary

Thanks for FG’s note and trouble in searching out pigeons.

Is obliged to FG for obtaining C. J. Andersson’s offer of information about breeds of cattle in South Africa.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Galton
Date:  22 Feb [1855]
Classmark:  National Library of South Africa, Cape Town
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1554F

From Francis Galton to Charles John Andersson   [after 22 February 1855]

Summary

Sends on CD’s list of enquiries about native breeds of animals in South Africa.

Author:  Francis Galton
Addressee:  Charles John (Carl Johann) Andersson
Date:  [after 22 Feb 1855]
Classmark:  National Library of South Africa, Cape Town
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1554G

To Syms Covington   28 February 1855

Summary

Pleased to hear that SC is prospering.

News of FitzRoy, Sulivan and J. L. Stokes.

The Crimean War is badly mismanaged, but Englishmen are behaving nobly.

Wishes he knew what to do with his boys.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Syms Covington
Date:  28 Feb 1855
Classmark:  Sydney Mail, 9 August 1884, pp. 254–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1637
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1855
02
02 (1)
08 (1)
20 (1)
21 (1)
22 (2)
28 (1)