skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
in the full text  [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1844 in date [X]
94 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5  Next

To Josiah Wedgwood III   31 July 1844

Summary

Acknowledges receipt of the order for £48 4s. 8d., and offers full indemnity for the £5,000 deposited without security.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Josiah Wedgwood, III
Date:  31 July 1844
Classmark:  Alan Wedgwood (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-767F

To C. G. Ehrenberg   4 July [1844]

Summary

Astonished that dust sample contains Infusoria. Thinks dust is volcanic. Will write account of falling dust [see 775]. Offers further samples.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Christian Gottfried Ehrenberg
Date:  4 July [1844]
Classmark:  Museum für Naturkunde Berlin (MfN/HBSB, N005 NL Christian Gottfried Ehrenberg Nr. 43)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-760

To Emma Darwin   5 July 1844

Summary

Asks that in the event of his death, Emma should have the sketch of his species theory edited and published. Suggests possible editors, among them Lyell, Edward Forbes, and J. D. Hooker. [CD annotation on cover: "Hooker by far best man to edit my species volume Aug 1854".]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  5 July 1844
Classmark:  Natural History Museum (General Special Collections MSS DAR A4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-761

From C. G. Ehrenberg   11 July 1844

Summary

Thanks for shipments of earth samples. Sends copy of article describing Infusoria in samples ["Einige vorläufige Resultate … über das Verhalten des kleinsten Lebens in den Oceanen", Ber. k. Preuss. Akad. Wiss. Berlin (1844): 182–207]. Asks for more information and samples, especially from the soundings of Ross’s expedition.

Author:  Christian Gottfried Ehrenberg
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 July 1844
Classmark:  DAR 163: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-762

To J. D. Hooker   [14 July 1844]

thumbnail

Summary

Health and weather permitting, CD proposes to visit Kew.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [14 July 1844]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 13
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-763

To J. D. Hooker   22 July [1844]

thumbnail

Summary

Encloses letter from Ehrenberg [762], who wants information on deep-sea soundings from JDH’s voyage, and on isolated islands.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  22 July [1844]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 14
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-764

To J. D. Hooker   [25 July – 29 August 1844]

thumbnail

Summary

Encloses Ehrenberg letter, Galapagos seaweed, and specimens of Conferva.

H. Denny would like specimens of Antarctic Pediculi.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [25 July–29 Aug 1844]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 15
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-768

To John Stevens Henslow   [25 July 1844]

Summary

Sends a specimen of rusty wheat from the banks of the Plata.

Asks for bits of peat he collected

and a bit of the paint used by Fuegians to colour themselves.

He will send these to C. G. Ehrenberg for analysis.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [25 July 1844]
Classmark:  John Hay Library, Brown University (Albert E. Lownes Manuscript Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-765

To Josiah Wedgwood III and E. A. Darwin   25 July 1844

Summary

Requests to JW III and EAD as trustees of the marriage-settlement, to make some funds available.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Josiah Wedgwood, III; Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Date:  25 July 1844
Classmark:  V&A / Wedgwood Collection (MS W/M 1012)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-766

To Henry Denny   [27 July – 10 August 1844]

Summary

Sends four packets of lice and suggests writing to Dr A. Smith, "the S. African traveller", for assistance.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Denny
Date:  [27 July – 10 Aug 1844]
Classmark:  Yale University Medical Historical Library, Harvey Cushing / John Hay Whitney Medical Library (MMS)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-763F

To The Royal Geographical Society   [30 July 1844 – 1 October 1846]

Summary

Urgently needs a Spanish map of the Cordilleras of central Chile near St Jago [Santiago].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  R. Geogr. Soc.
Date:  [30 July 1844 – 1 Oct 1846]
Classmark:  Fitzwilliam Museum
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-767

To Adolf von Morlot   9 August [1844]

Summary

Declines to undertake to have AM’s journal published but recommends possible publishers in England.

Expresses scepticism about AM’s glacier theory. Emphasises role of floating ice instead. Mentions article by William Hopkins on movement of glaciers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Adolphe Morlot (Adolph von Morlot)
Date:  9 Aug [1844]
Classmark:  Burgerbibliothek Bern, Bern, Switzerland
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-769

To Henry Denny   12 August [1844]

Summary

Can hardly believe he made a mistake in specimens sent to HD. Recopies numbers in case he transposed them. [Has to do with lice taken from a specimen of aperea and put into spirits during Beagle voyage.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Denny
Date:  12 Aug [1844]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-770

To J. D. Hooker   29 [August 1844]

thumbnail

Summary

Encloses pamphlet from Ehrenberg who asks about deep-sea soundings from JDH’s voyage.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  29 [Aug 1844]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 16
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-772

To Leonard Horner   29 August [1844]

Summary

Thanks Horner for his letter [about Volcanic islands].

Discusses craters of elevation with respect to the views of Leopold von Buch and Élie de Beaumont. Compares Lyell’s views to those of continental geologists. Mentions reading A. D. d’Orbigny [Voyage dans l’Amérique méridionale (1835–47)].

Encloses note from Emma to Mrs Horner, inviting the Horners to visit Down.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leonard Horner
Date:  29 Aug [1844]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.38)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-771

To Charles Lyell   [1 September 1844]

Summary

Asks about CL’s new book [Travels in North America (1845)].

Discusses views of A. D. d’Orbigny on elevation.

Mentions reading W. H. Prescott [History of the conquest of Mexico (1843)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [1 Sept 1844]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.39)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-773

From J. D. Hooker   [c. 3 September 1844]

Summary

Suggests there is a direct relation between temperature and abundance of plant species.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [c. 3 Sept 1844]
Classmark:  DAR 104: 221
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-774

To C. G. Ehrenberg   5 September [1844]

Summary

Has at last received first letter CGE wrote.

More specimens being sent.

Sends his sketch of paper ["Fine dust in the Atlantic Ocean" (1846), Collected papers 1: 199–203].

D’Orbigny considers Pampas clay deposit result of debacle. CD cannot doubt it is slow, estuary deposit. Would be grateful for information on this point.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Christian Gottfried Ehrenberg
Date:  5 Sept [1844]
Classmark:  Museum für Naturkunde Berlin (MfN/HBSB, N005 NL Christian Gottfried Ehrenberg Nr. 43)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-775

To J. D. Hooker   [8 September 1844]

thumbnail

Summary

Acknowledges note and parcel for Ehrenberg.

Considers why different areas have different numbers of species. Gives an example opposing JDH’s view that paucity of species results from vicissitudes of climate. CD has concluded that species are most numerous in areas that have most often been divided, isolated from, and then reunited with, other areas. Cannot give detailed reasons but believes that "isolation is the chief concomitant or cause of the appearance of new forms".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  [8 Sept 1844]
Classmark:  DAR 114: 17
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-776

To Gardeners’ Chronicle and Agricultural Gazette   [before 14 September 1844]

Summary

Referring to a correspondent who had written about Pelargonium plants whose leaves had become regularly edged with white, CD reports that nearly all the young leaves of box-trees he had planted have become symmetrically tipped with white. Though these facts seem trivial, CD believes the first appearance of any peculiarity which tends to become hereditary deserves being recorded.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gardeners’ Chronicle
Date:  [before 14 Sept 1844]
Classmark:  Gardeners’ Chronicle and Agricultural Gazette, no. 37, 14 September 1844, pp. 621
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-777
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1844
01 (7)
02 (6)
03 (7)
04 (6)
05 (5)
06 (9)
07 (11)
08 (4)
09 (6)
10 (8)
11 (12)
12 (13)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5  Next