skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
1867 in date disabled_by_default
431 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To Athenæum   1 January 1867


Expresses his support for new books being sold with the pages cut.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Athenæum
Date:  1 Jan 1867
Classmark:  Athenæum, 5 January 1867, pp. 18–19
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5343F

To [?]   22 [March? 1867]


CD must decline his correspondent’s kind offer [unspecified], but he is out of health and has passed the part about dogs in a work now at the printer’s [Variation].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  22 [Mar? 1867]
Classmark:  Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge (GEN/D/DARWIN (C)/6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5453

To [A. J. Woodhouse?]   25 January [1867?]


Two queries on teeth: 1. Is there evidence of inherited peculiarities in milk teeth?

2. Are male incisors longer than female?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred James Woodhouse
Date:  25 Jan [1867?]
Classmark:  DAR 261.11: 14 (EH 88206066)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13645

From J. S. Bowerbank   [4 November 1867]



Reports two observations on crossing in dogs: the preservation of both pure types in the offspring of a pointer and a setter, and the influence of a first mating with a mongrel on the progeny of a Barbary bitch and a subsequent Barbary male.

Author:  James Scott Bowerbank
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [4 Nov 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 261
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13780

From S. E. Wedgwood   [1867–72?]


Jessie [Wedgwood] says driving in sun made one of her eyes water.

Author:  Sarah Elizabeth (Elizabeth) Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1867–72?]
Classmark:  DAR 195.4: 104
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13856

To George Robert Waterhouse   5 March [1867?]


Wishes to know the correct name for the British Museum’s specimen of an Abyssinian wolf described by Wilhelm Rueppell, Neue Wirbelthiere zu der Fauna von Abyssinien [1835–40] .

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Robert Waterhouse
Date:  5 Mar [1867?]
Classmark:  Natural History Museum, Library and Archives (Archives DF PAL/100/9/22)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1394

To Daniel Oliver   1 June [1867]


Asks DO to identify a plant grown from earth adhering to the foot of a woodcock.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  1 June [1867]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3587

From W. E. Darwin   9 September [1867]


Suggests investments for CD;

discusses the opening of the Blackmore Museum, Salisbury;

mentions Edward Lumb of Buenos Aires, with whom CD stayed in Argentina.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Sept [1867]
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 30)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4609F

From John William Salter   4 January [1867]


Thanks CD for his kindness and hopes one day to return it.

Finds more and more observations fall in with CD’s theory but still finds it difficult to account for the sudden leaps in the fossil record and to explain why some organisms first appear as such high forms.

Author:  John William Salter
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4969

From John Brodie Innes   1 September [1867]


Recommends a tutor for CD’s son.

Author:  John Brodie Innes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Sept [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 167: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5205

From George Henslow   [c. August 1867?]


Thanks CD for his interesting papers.

Author:  George Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [c. Aug 1867?]
Classmark:  DAR 166: 148
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5336

From Edward Blyth   [2–30 March 1867]



Discussion of origin of domestic sheep races. Some comments on the yak and the wild ancestors of the llama and alpaca.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [2–30 Mar 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 208
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5337

To Charles Henry Middleton   20 [1867?]


Sorry he cannot remember where S. Filippe [San Felipe?] is.

Doubts that bones of ox, sheep, and horse could have been deposited in guano [on coast of Chile], but they would be worth examination.

[Tipped in copy of Origin (1866) with CHM’s bookplate.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Henry Middleton
Date:  20 [Jan-Dec] 1867
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (in Middleton’s copy of Origin 4th ed., BB.5.6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5341

From E. A. Darwin   22 [March 1867]



Is sending a copy of [John] Shaw’s book, which Lady Bell says is based on Charles Bell’s papers [possibly C. Bell, A treatise on diseases of the urethra, 3d ed. with notes by John Shaw (1822)].

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 [Mar 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B56
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5342

From Thomas Henry Huxley   [before 7 January 1867]


On Haeckel’s Generelle Morphologie; the logical argument for natural selection is still incomplete. THH jumps over the hole by an act of faith.

Author:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 7 Jan 1867]
Classmark:  DAR 102: 134a–d
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5343

From Fritz Müller   1 January 1867


Describes his experiments in fertilising Oncidium flexuosum and comparison with Notylia.

Has been examining Catasetum.

Encloses seeds of two species of Gesneria and describes hairs in the seed capsule. Hairs in other plants seem to have a different function.

Starting tomorrow for a botanical excursion on the Continent.

Author:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Jan 1867
Classmark:  Möller ed. 1915–21, 2: 104–9; DAR 157a: 104
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5344A

From John Murray   2 January [1867]


William Clowes [printer for J. Murray] estimates that Variation will come to a first volume of 648 pages and a second volume of 624 pages – which is too much for volumes the same size as Origin. Murray proposes a larger size.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 342
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5345

To John Murray   3 January [1867]


Sorry about enormous size of Variation MS, but cannot shorten it now. If JM is afraid to publish, CD will consider agreement cancelled. Suggests he ask someone with judgment to read the MS. Has written concluding chapter on man. Whether it will be included depends on size of volume.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  3 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff. 158–160)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5346

To William Bernhard Tegetmeier   6 January [1867]


Returns some of WBT’s skulls.

His MS is with printer, but book [Variation] will probably not be out until November.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  6 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5347

To T. H. Huxley   7 January [1867]


Gives up plan to have Haeckel’s Generelle morphologie translated.

His big book [Variation] has gone to printer. Thinks of adding a chapter on man.

Will order Duke of Argyll’s book [Reign of law (1867)].

"Nature never made species mutually sterile [by selection]; nor will man.–"

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  7 Jan [1867]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology, and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 233)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5348
Document type
01 (52)
02 (37)
03 (61)
04 (41)
05 (36)
06 (23)
07 (18)
08 (33)
09 (19)
10 (27)
11 (39)
12 (45)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next