skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
1833 in date disabled_by_default
39 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

From Robert FitzRoy   [1833?]


List of mountains with their heights.

Author:  Robert FitzRoy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1833?]
Classmark:  DAR 40: 53
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-194

From J. S. Henslow   15–21 January 1833


Acknowledges receipt of two letters from CD and a box of specimens.

Mentions attendance at BAAS meeting and a gift to him of a small living near Oxford. Some political news.

Congratulates CD on the work he has done – the specimens are of great interest. Gives advice on packing, labelling, and future collecting and suggests that – as a precaution – CD send home a copy of his notes on the specimens.

Author:  John Stevens Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 and 21 Jan 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 111
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-196

From W. D. Fox   23 January 1833


His health has improved but he continues "a good deal of an invalid" and is uncertain what the future holds for him.

His interest in entomology and ornithology continues; he has been studying the gulls on the Isle of Wight.

Author:  William Darwin Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Jan 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 121
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-197

From Susan Darwin   3–6 March 1833


Captain Beaufort has offered to get one more letter to CD before the long voyage around the Horn;

SD brings family news up to date.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 & 6 Mar 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 99
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-200

From R. W. Darwin   7 March 1833


Writes of the pleasure all feel in CD’s continued good health and joy in his voyage.

Tells of the banana tree he bought, which he sits under and thinks of CD "in similar shade".

CD’s financial accounts are correct.

Author:  Robert Waring Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Mar 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 94
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-201

To J. S. Henslow   11 April 1833


Description of the months at Tierra del Fuego. His first sight of the primitive Fuegians. Geological and zoological observations and specimens.

The Falklands: geological and zoological observations.

Convinced the [Megatherium] sent to Royal College of Physicians [by Woodbine Parish] belongs to same formation as bones he sent home.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  11 Apr 1833
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 17 DAR/1/1/17)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-204

To W. D. Fox   23 May 1833


He misses society. "I often conjecture what will become of me; my wishes certainly would make me a country clergyman. – You expect sadly more than I shall ever do in Nat. Hist: I am only a sort of Jackall, a lions provider; but I wish I was sure there were lions enough."

Has collected a host of minute beetles, some reptiles, small quadrupeds, and fishes. Invertebrate marine animals are his delight. The pleasure of working with microscope ranks second only to geology.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  23 May 1833
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 46b)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-207

To J. M. Herbert   2 June 1833


Describes Tierra del Fuego and Cape Horn; was reminded of hours at Barmouth; chafes at the length of the trip.

Hopes the Whigs will do away with slavery – has seen enough of it and Negroes to be disgusted with the lies heard in England.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Maurice Herbert
Date:  2 June 1833
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-209

To J. S. Henslow   18 July 1833


Fears JSH will think his collections scanty. Makes it a constant rule to prefer obscure and diminutive tribes of animals.

Now has a servant whom he has taught to skin birds, etc.

Lists four barrels of specimens he is sending.

Gives future route. He looks forward to the western coast of South America.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  18 July 1833
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 18 DAR/1/1/18)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-210

From Susan Darwin   22–31 July 1833


News of family and friends after skipping June letter: Osmaston and the Foxes, five weeks in London, the Langtons in Shropshire, Fanny Biddulph and daughter, R. W. Darwin, and Charles Hughes.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 & 31 July 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 100
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-211

From Robert FitzRoy   24 [August 1833]


Wishes CD well on his trip to General Juan Manuel Rosas. CD is to send word when he wants a boat; there is no hurry, for there is plenty of work for the sounders. He envies CD’s travels.

Author:  Robert FitzRoy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 [Aug 1833]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 117
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-212

From J. S. Henslow   31 August 1833



The [Megatherium] fossils were extremely interesting and were shown at the Geological Section of the BAAS meeting at Cambridge [1833].

The plants delight him; will work them out with W. J. Hooker.

CD should send every fossil he can find; minute insects will be nearly all new. Delighted with descriptions of the few animals alluded to.

Author:  John Stevens Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Aug 1833
Classmark:  DAR 97(ser. 2): 14–15
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-213

To J. S. Henslow   [20–7] September 1833


Informs JSH that a Spanish friend has offered him a cargo of bones. If they arrive, he has arranged with Edward Lumb to forward them to JSH. [Forwarded to JSH with 244.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [20–7] Sept 1833
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 19 DAR/1/1/19)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-216

From Robert FitzRoy   4 October 1833


Urges CD to return to the Beagle early in November. Conrad Martens arrives to succeed Augustus Earle as artist for the expedition.

Author:  Robert FitzRoy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Oct 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 120
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-218

From Susan Darwin   15 October 1833


Mainly news of the family and friends. Their joy at the abolition of slavery.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 Oct 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 101
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-219

From Sarah Williams   21 October 1833


News of Fanny Biddulph and other Owens; Susan Darwin has declined a marriage offer. Other gossip about Shrewsbury acquaintances.

Author:  Sarah Harriet Mostyn Williams
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 Oct 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 62
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-220

To W. D. Fox   25 October 1833


Writes of his ride from Rio Negro to Bahia Blanca and Buenos Aires, which he undertook in order to learn the geology of the land, so full of bones of large extinct quadrupeds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  25 Oct 1833
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 46c)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-223

From Henry Stephen Fox   31 October 1833


Urges CD to visit Flores Island near Montevideo if he has not already done so. Describes formation of greenstone and the granite formations on small islands in the Uruguay channel.

Sends specimens from Pôrto Alegre [Brazil] for identification by CD.

Author:  Henry Stephen Fox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  31 Oct 1833
Classmark:  DAR 39.1: 1–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-226

To F. W. Hope   1 November 1833


Tierra del Fuego and the barren coasts of Patagonia are "singularly unfavourable to the insect world". In the tropics, however, CD captured minute Coleoptera by the hundreds – which should result in his bringing home many undescribed species.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Frederick William Hope
Date:  1 Nov 1833
Classmark:  Oxford University Museum (Hope Entomological collections)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-227

From T. C. Eyton   12 November 1833


Has been working hard on collecting English and foreign birds. Yarrell has written of new birds discovered in England.

News of work in progress by Leonard Jenyns, P. J. Selby, and John Gould.

Cautions CD to beware of insects when he sends any birds’ skins – otherwise there will be only feathers, beaks, and legs remaining when he returns.

Author:  Thomas Campbell Eyton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Nov 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 118
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-228
Page: 1 2  Next