skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
letter in document-type disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in author disabled_by_default
1877::07 in date disabled_by_default
30 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To ?   4 July [1877?]


Passes judgment on photo of embryological interest.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  4 July [1877?]
Classmark:  Sotheby’s (dealers) (23 July 1963)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11590

To Williams & Norgate   [7 July? 1877]


Asks for Tom. 23 of the Bulletin de la Soc. Bot. de France to be purchased for him.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Williams & Norgate
Date:  [7 July? 1877]
Classmark:  Bonhams (dealers) (27 November 2018, lot 85)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10759F

To Alfred Espinas   [before 1 July 1877]


As AE hardly admits evolution, they view all subjects differently.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Victor (Alfred) Espinas
Date:  [before 1 July 1877]
Classmark:  Darwin Library–CUL: tipped into Espinas 1877
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11027

To Thomas Meehan   5 July [1877]


Thanks for review. Fears "we must agree to differ".

Health weak. Not worth TM’s time to visit.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Meehan
Date:  5 July [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 146: 355
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11036

To Constantin James   5 July 1877


Thanks him for his book [Du Darwinisme ou l’homme singe (1877)] and letter.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Constantin James
Date:  5 July 1877
Classmark:  James 1892, p. [V]
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11036F

To Arnold Dodel-Port   6 July 1877


Thanks AD-P for plates [from Arnold and Carolina Dodel-Port, Atlas der Botanik (1878–83)]. Will be useful to all who teach botany.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Arnold Dodel-Port
Date:  6 July 1877
Classmark:  Zentralbibliothek, Zürich (Ms Z VIII 417.2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11039

To William Preyer   8 July 1877


Discusses inheritance.

Has WP heard of Douglas Spalding’s experiments of blindfolding chickens ["Instinct – with original observations on young animals", Rep. BAAS 42 (1872): 141–3]?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Thierry (William) Preyer
Date:  8 July 1877
Classmark:  DAR 147: 268–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11042

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   9 July [1877]


Asks for advice on how to care for previously sent species.

Occurrence of "bloom".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  9 July [1877]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 67–8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11043

To L. H. Morgan   9 July [1877]


CD admires Herbert Spencer’s genius but not his "deductive style" of expression.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Lewis Henry Morgan
Date:  9 July [1877]
Classmark:  University of Rochester Libraries, Department of Rare Books, Special Collections and Preservation
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11044

To Ernst Krause   11 July [1877]


EK may publish a translation [of "Sketch of an infant"] if he wishes, but CD hardly thinks it deserves the honour.

Glad to hear that Kosmos succeeds fairly well; has found several articles interesting.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Ludwig (Ernst) Krause
Date:  11 July [1877]
Classmark:  The Huntington Library (HM 36174)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11047

To George Bentham   12 July 1877


Thanks GB for corrections to chapter on cleistogamic flowers [Forms of flowers].

Asks for his opinion on "bloom"-producing plants in different climates.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Bentham
Date:  12 July 1877
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Bentham Correspondence, Vol. 3, Daintree–Dyer, 1830–84, GEB/1/3: f. 721)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11049

To G. C. Robertson   13 July [1877]


Thanks for offprints [of "Sketch of an infant", Collected papers 2: 191–200]. Several Germans have asked permission to translate it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Croom Robertson
Date:  13 July [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 147: 327
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11052

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   14 July [1877]


"Frank and I are working very hard on ""bloom"" and sleep" [movements]. Asks for succulent species for experiment.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  14 July [1877]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 70–1)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11053

To Rudolph Ludwig   [16 July 1877]


Thanks RABL for his book on crocodiles [Fossile Crocodiliden (1877)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Rudolph August Birminhold Sebastian (Rudolph) Ludwig
Date:  [16 July 1877]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.517)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11055

To J. M. F. Ludlow   16 July [1877]


Writes as a trustee of Down Friendly Society, which wishes to have one of its rules modified to permit the distribution of surplus funds. [Apparently an earlier draft of 11058.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Malcolm Forbes Ludlow
Date:  16 July [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 202: 50
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11057

To J. M. F. Ludlow   17 July [1877]


Wishes to have a resolution lately passed by the Down Friendly Society confirmed at the earliest convenience. [See also 11057.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Malcolm Forbes Ludlow
Date:  17 July [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 202: 51
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11058

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   18 July [1877]


Thanks him for various plants sent for experiments.

Frank [Darwin] has been feeding Drosera meat to study differences between fed and unfed plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  18 July [1877]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 72–3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11059

To C. G. Semper   18 July 1877


Thanks for CGS’s work [“Über Schneckenaugen” (1877)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Carl Gottfried Semper
Date:  18 July 1877
Classmark:  Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Düsseldorf (slg 60/Dok/56)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11061

To J. M. F. Ludlow   20 July [1877]



Writes as a trustee of the Down Friendly Society. Hopes the Society will soon be permitted to distribute its surplus funds, as there is agitation to dissolve the club and divide its assets.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Malcolm Forbes Ludlow
Date:  20 July [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 202: 52
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11064

To the National Debt Office   [after 29 July 1877]



Writes as a trustee of Down Friendly Society about withdrawing some funds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  National Debt Office
Date:  [after 29 July 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 202: 73
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11065
Document type
Darwin, C. R.disabled_by_default
01 (1)
04 (1)
05 (2)
06 (1)
07 (1)
08 (1)
09 (2)
11 (1)
12 (1)
13 (1)
14 (1)
16 (2)
17 (1)
18 (2)
20 (2)
22 (1)
26 (2)
28 (3)
29 (2)
30 (1)
31 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next