skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
Darwin, C. R. in addressee disabled_by_default
1862 in date disabled_by_default
299 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From Francis Walker   24 June [1862]



Identified two flies as species of Empis that suck flowers, but the females also feed on small Diptera.

Author:  Francis Walker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 June [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 70: 182
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10547

From Daniel Oliver   16 September 1862


Envelope containing specimens (apparently mentioned in the letter from Daniel Oliver 27 February 1863 (S 4015)).

Author:  Daniel Oliver
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Sept 1862
Classmark:  DAR 142: 104
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13891G

From Daniel Oliver   [4–8 February 1862]



Cites descriptions of melastomads in C. V. Naudin, Annales des Sciences Naturelles 3d ser., vols. 12–18.

Author:  Daniel Oliver
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [4–8 Feb 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 205.8: 69
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2916

From James Bateman   [1 February 1862]



Glad CD approves of the orchids he sent.

Believes the pollinia of Mormodes are projected; thinks CD should look at the pollinia of Chysis and investigate the hybrid between Limatodes and Calanthe.

Author:  James Bateman
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 Feb 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 160.1: 59
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3356

From Robert Bateman   [28 January 1862]



For his father [James Bateman], he sends three more species of orchids and names of others described by CD.

Author:  Robert Bateman
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [28 Jan 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 160.1: 60
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3357

From Andrew Smith   [November? 1862]


AS has been seriously ill with rheumatic fever.

Is studying the natives of South Africa to see whether he can trace any connection between them and the populations of North Africa.

Author:  Andrew Smith
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [Nov? 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 184
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3362

From W. E. Darwin   [2 November 1862]


Counted seeds by tens. Sends some.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [2 Nov 1862]
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 10)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3362F

From H. G. Bronn   [before 11 March 1862]



Asks if CD will have corrections for 2d German ed. of Origin.

CD’s theory only natural way to explain creation but contradicts current knowledge about origin of life from inorganic matter.

Has read Primula paper [Collected papers 2: 45–63] with interest.

Author:  Heinrich Georg Bronn
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 11 Mar 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 160.3: 319
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3363

From T. C. Eyton   [after 19 May 1862?]


Sends photograph. Asks CD for his.

Author:  Thomas Campbell Eyton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 19 May 1862?]
Classmark:  DAR 163: 40
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3364

From John Brodie Innes   2 January [1862]


Quiz has been sent off to Down.

JBI will leave for Scotland on Monday.

Author:  John Brodie Innes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Jan [1862]
Classmark:  DAR 167.1: 7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3370

From J. D. Hooker   [1 January 1862]



Sends plant specimens. William Borrer will be glad to send seeds.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 Jan 1862]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3373

From John Lubbock   6 January 1862


Sends paper [on ancient Swiss lake-habitations, Nat. Hist. Rev. n.s. 2 (1862): 26–51] for CD’s opinion.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 170.1: 23
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3376

From Henry Walter Bates   6 January 1862



Sends CD ch. 2 of his book [The naturalist on the river Amazons] for suggestions, having accepted CD’s recommendations concerning ch. 1.

Effects of climate on dress in ch. 1 similar to, but independent of, notions expressed by CD in his Journal of researches [p. 381].

On geology, book deals with distribution and theory of deltas of the Amazon.

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 160.1: 64
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3377

From John Lubbock   7 [February] 1862


Sir George Clerk to be new President of the Zoological Society.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 [Feb] 1862
Classmark:  DAR 170.1: 25
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3378

From Société Impériale Zoologique d’Acclimatation   10 January 1862



Announces a meeting of the Society to elect its officers.

Author:  Société Impériale Zoologique d’Acclimatation
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 96: 11v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3379

From H. W. Bates   11 January 1862



Grieved to hear of CD’s illness; begs him not to give moment’s thought to his MS until health has returned.

Plans to exhibit mimetic butterflies at Linnean Society.

Author:  Henry Walter Bates
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 160.1: 65
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3381

From Thomas Henry Huxley   13 January 1862


Against all predictions his Edinburgh lecture was well received [Evidence as to man’s place in nature (1863)].

Took his old line about problem of infertility of hybrids as a test of CD’s views.

Report [from a newspaper] not quite right about what he said, but they have not refuted his statement that some form of progressive development theory is certainly true, nor that man and the apes come from same stock. Owen has gone in for progressive development in second edition of the Palaeontology [1861].

Author:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 166.2: 290
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3383

From Charles Carter Blake   13 January 1862



Thanks for note on his Macrauchenia paper [Ann. & Mag. Nat. Hist. 3d ser. 7 (1861): 441–3].

Asks for references to descriptions of certain bones found in South America.

Lists four fossil New World monkeys; is CD aware of any others?

Author:  Charles Carter Blake
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 160.2: 198
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3384

From C. E. Brown-Séquard   13 January 1862



Apologises for not answering CD sooner about where he will publish review [of Origin]. Review is to appear in his own journal, but will postpone publishing it until the French translation of 3d ed. appears. Expresses substantial agreement with CD’s views.

Author:  Charles Édouard Brown-Séquard
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 160.3: 327
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3385

From John Hutton Balfour   14 January 1862



Thanks for Primula paper [Collected papers 2: 45–63]; will examine some [Edinburgh] Botanic Garden samples in its light.

Huxley visiting Edinburgh and spoke on man’s zoological relations with monkeys [see Man’s place in nature (1863)]. JHB disagrees with his views.

Author:  John Hutton Balfour
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Jan 1862
Classmark:  DAR 160.1: 31
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3387
Document type
letter (299)
Alberts, Maurice (2)
Appleton, T. G. (1)
Babington, C. C. (5)
Balfour, J. H. (1)
Bateman, James (1)
Bateman, Robert (1)
Bates, H. W. (9)
Bennet, C. A. (b) (1)
Bentham, George (2)
Blake, C. C. (1)
Blomefield, Leonard (2)
Blyth, Edward (1)
Boott, Francis (3)
Brent, B. P. (1)
Bronn, H. G. (4)
Brown-Séquard, C. É. (1)
Busk, George (1)
Butler, Mary (1)
Candolle, Alphonse de (2)
Claparède, Edouard (1)
Clarke, R. T. (2)
Clarke, W. B. (b) (4)
Cresy, Edward, Jr (2)
Crocker, C. W. (7)
Currey, Frederick (2)
Dana, J. D. (1)
Darwin, E. A. (5)
Darwin, G. H. (2)
Darwin, H. E. (1)
Darwin, W. E. (17)
Daubeny, C. G. B. (1)
Dickie, George (1)
E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung (3)
Edinburgh Royal Medical Society (1)
Eyton, T. C. (1)
Falconer, Hugh (5)
Fitch, Adam (1)
Goubert, E. M. J. M. P. (1)
Gray, Asa (21)
Gray, J. E. (4)
Haast, Julius von (1)
Harris, G. E. (1)
Higgins, John (1)
Hildebrand, Friedrich (1)
Hofmann, A. W. von (1)
Holland, Henry (8)
Hooker, J. D. (44)
Huxley, T. H. (6)
Innes, J. B. (4)
Jamieson, T. F. (1)
Jenyns, Leonard (2)
Johnson, Henry (a) (2)
Jukes, J. B. (3)
King, P. G. (1)
Kingsley, Charles (1)
Litchfield, H. E. (1)
Lubbock, John (12)
Lyell, Charles (2)
Martens, Conrad (1)
Masters, M. T. (3)
Matthew, Patrick (1)
Maw, George (2)
Mellersh, Arthur (1)
Murray, Andrew (1)
Murray, John (b) (2)
Naudin, C. V. (1)
Nevill, D. F. (4)
Newman, Edward (1)
Oliver, Daniel (10)
Oxenden, G. C. (17)
Parkes, E. A. (3)
Pritchard, Charles (1)
Quatrefages de Bréau, Armand de Quatrefages (1)
Ramsay, A. C. (3)
Rogers, John (a) (1)
Rolfe, R. M. (1)
Scott, John (5)
Seemann, B. C. (1)
Smith, Andrew (1)
Smith, Frederick (a) (2)
Société Impériale Zoologique d’Acclimatation (1)
Stanhope, P. H. (1)
Sulivan, B. J. (5)
Swinhoe, Robert (2)
Thwaites, G. H. K. (1)
Tollet, Georgina (1)
Vaughan Williams, M. S. (2)
Walker, Francis (1)
Wallace, A. R. (5)
Walpole, D. F. (4)
Wedgwood, M. S. (2)
Westwood, J. O. (2)
Wood, S. V. (1)
Woodbury, T. W. (1)
Wooler, W. A. (1)
Darwin, C. R.disabled_by_default
01 (36)
02 (20)
03 (18)
04 (19)
05 (34)
06 (28)
07 (27)
08 (19)
09 (22)
10 (28)
11 (25)
12 (23)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next