skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Price, John", startDoc is "61"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Price and John in keywords [X]
90 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5  Next

From John Murray   19 September [1867]

Summary

Sends CD cheque for £250, two-thirds of the profits on the sale of 700 copies of Origin, 4th ed.

Hopes he has found a suitable indexer for Variation.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  19 Sept [1867]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 350, 524
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5630

Matches: 1 hit

  • price of Orchids was 9 s. See Freeman 1977 , p.  113. CD’s annotation refers to his payment of £12 for presentation copies. See letter to John

To John Higgins   14 June [1853]

Summary

Discusses account.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Higgins
Date:  14 June [1853]
Classmark:  Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/65)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1519

Matches: 1 hit

  • John Higgins, 7 June 1851 ). In 1850 CD had agreed to a reduction of 15% in rent on the Beesby Farm because of the slump in agricultural prices. …

From John Murray   18 October [1866]

Summary

JM states he will publish [Variation] on same basis as Origin, i.e., paying CD two-thirds of the profits.

In response to Asa Gray’s suggestion, he could supply Ticknor & Fields with 250 copies [of Origin, 4th ed.] at half-price.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  18 Oct [1866]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 338
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5246

Matches: 1 hit

  • price— I could supply them either with early sheets of your new Book or with stereotype plates if they prefer them I remain My Dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | John

From R. F. Cooke   25 October 1875

Summary

Stereotype plates of Climbing plants sent to D. Appleton’s agent.

A revised edition of Orchids would be desirable.

Author:  Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 Oct 1875
Classmark:  DAR 171: 476
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10224

Matches: 1 hit

  • John Murray in 1862. See letter from R. F. Cooke, 22 October 1875 . CD often commented on both the price

From Catherine & Caroline Darwin   11 April [1826]

Summary

Family and Shrewsbury news. Visits of relatives and friends.

Author:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin; Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Apr [1826]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 24
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-31

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Uncle John & Aunt Jane come on Monday; yesterday 3 of Eras’s friends dined here. Price, …

From R. F. Cooke   24 May 1875

Summary

Replies to CD’s various questions and suggestions concerning publication plans for Insectivorous plants.

Author:  Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  24 May 1875
Classmark:  DAR 171: 452
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-9990

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Co. , pay John Murray fifteen to twenty per cent more than the cost price for the …

To Asa Gray   21 December [1860]

Summary

Asks AG to send his reviews [of Origin] as soon as he has definitely fixed on a title for the pamphlet.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  21 Dec [1860]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (J. L. Gray autograph collection 50)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3028

Matches: 1 hit

  • Price 1 s . 6 d . ) When first published in the Atlantic Monthly , the review was unsigned. The leaf of advertisements bound at the end of this edition of Origin lists only works published by John

From John Murray   1 July 1870

Summary

Financial adjustments for last edition of Origin

and a tentative title for the new work: "Descent of man and selection according to sex". [Later changed to "in relation to sex".]

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 July 1870
Classmark:  DAR 171: 376
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7259

Matches: 1 hit

  • price by one shilling below that of the former Ed n . Of the Titles you have preferred The Descent of Man—& Selection according to Sex— This need not bind you permanently as to your Title. At all events I am glad we have got rid of an objectionable adjective— My dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | John

To Eduard Koch?   6 February 1876

Summary

Discusses use by correspondent of clichés from one of his books.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Eduard Koch
Date:  6 Feb 1876
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.273a)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10383

Matches: 1 hit

  • price of clichés and the new edition of Orchids (see nn. 2 and 3, below). Koch was the head of E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung. John

From John Murray   28 April [1869]

Summary

Has sold 400 copies of Facts and arguments for Darwin. It is a poor time for bookselling.

Last Quarterly Review has best exposition of Darwinism he has met with [A. R. Wallace, "Geological climates, and origin of species", Q. Rev. 126 (1869): 359–94].

Proposes to print 2000 copies of a new [5th] edition of Origin.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Apr [1869]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 368
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6715

Matches: 1 hit

  • price to the original s 14/— M r Hegt’s book is sent off. My Dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | John

To Smith, Elder & Co.   30 March [1846]

Summary

Discusses publication of his book [South America].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Smith, Elder & Co
Date:  30 Mar [1846]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-967

Matches: 1 hit

  • price for each title. See J.   J. Barnes 1964 , p.  1. For CD’s experience with Henry Colburn see letter to John

To John Higgins   9 April [1854]

Summary

Discusses his investments.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Higgins
Date:  9 Apr [1854]
Classmark:  Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/79)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1566

Matches: 1 hit

  • price of railway stock fell appreciably ( Railway Times 17 (1854): 308–9, 336–7). See letter to John

From W. E. Darwin   [before 29 January 1876?]

Summary

Purchases cigarettes for CD.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 29 Jan 1876?]
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 58)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10366F

Matches: 1 hit

  • John Wood & Sons had taken over the tobacconist business of Theodoridi & Co. at 23 Pall Mall ( Post Office London directory 1876, British Mail and General Produce Prices

From J. D. Hooker   [26 September 1865]

thumbnail

Summary

On his reading: George Eliot,

T. F. Jamieson on Scottish glaciation.

Glad Lyell–Lubbock affair is over.

His grief over loss of father and child.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [26 Sept 1865]
Classmark:  DAR 102: 34–6a
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4899

Matches: 1 hit

  • John Francis Campbell and his father, Walter Frederick Campbell. Walter Campbell was laird of the Hebridean island of Islay, but went bankrupt in 1848 following a period of depressed agricultural prices, …

To W. E. Darwin   21 March [1868]

Summary

Suggests possible arbitrators to act in a business transaction involving WED.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  21 Mar [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 125
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6037

Matches: 1 hit

  • John Lubbock was a partner in the family bank, Robarts, Lubbock & Co. ( ODNB ). Hensleigh Wedgwood read for the chancery bar, but never practised; he was police magistrate for Lambeth from 1832 to 1837 ( DNB ). Price’ …

To John Higgins   19 June [1852]

Summary

Discusses his account and rent reduction. Comments on agricultural prices.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Higgins
Date:  19 June [1852]
Classmark:  Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/54)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1483

Matches: 1 hit

  • John Higgins, 9 May [1850] . Charles Anderson Worsley, Earl of Yarborough. Robert Adam Christopher, M.P.  for north Lincolnshire. Following the repeal of the Corn Laws in 1846 and the abolition of duty on foreign cereal imports in 1849, agricultural prices

From John Murray   2 November 1859

Summary

By this post he sends for approval specimen copy of CD’s book [Origin of species]. At 14 s., 1250 copies will yield £240, two-thirds of which will go to author. Arrangements for early copies.

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Nov 1859
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 41913 pp. 53–4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-2513A

Matches: 1 hit

  • price the edition of 1250 copies will yield about £240— 2 3 rds of which will go to the author— The only alternative is 12/. —which will yield no more than £150— At 14/. the lowest trade allowance will be 9/6 My Trade Sale is unavoidably put off to the 22 nd —this will give more time for your copies to circulate— I will do the best for the foreign ones I am dear Sir (in great haste) | Yours very faithfully, (signed) John

To John Higgins   9 May [1850]

Summary

Agrees to reduce rent on farm because of bad times.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Higgins
Date:  9 May [1850]
Classmark:  Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/32)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1326

Matches: 1 hit

  • prices. Early in 1849 the duty on foreign cereal imports was also abolished. Francis Hardy, CD’s tenant. CD’s income from the farm remained at the reduced rate during 1850, 1851, and 1852 (see letter to John

From Thomas Campbell Eyton   12 November 1833

Summary

Has been working hard on collecting English and foreign birds. Yarrell has written of new birds discovered in England.

News of work in progress by Leonard Jenyns, P. J. Selby, and John Gould.

Cautions CD to beware of insects when he sends any birds’ skins – otherwise there will be only feathers, beaks, and legs remaining when he returns.

Author:  Thomas Campbell Eyton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Nov 1833
Classmark:  DAR 204: 118
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-228

Matches: 1 hit

  • price for them since I am on the right side. I saw as I believe I told you before your sisters and father this morning the latter of whom has had a fit of the gout but has now recovered and the whole party are looking very well. I do not know that there is much gossip going on there now except that John

To John Murray   11 November 1872

Summary

CD is delighted and astonished at sale of Expression,

and pleased with sale of others, except Descent. He fears a new edition of that work may never be required. Would have liked to bring out a thoroughly revised one.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  11 Nov 1872
Classmark:  National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 ff. 276–7)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8620

Matches: 1 hit

  • John Murray, 9 November 1872 . Seven thousand copies of Descent had been printed in 1871; a second edition was published in 1874. Murray may have given CD exact sale figures in a missing enclosure to his letter of 9 November 1872. See letter from R.  F.  Cooke, 12 February 1872 . See letter from R.  F.  Cooke, 14 August 1872 . The price
Document type
letter (82)
people (5)
bibliography (3)
Date
1822 (1)
1824 (1)
1825 (1)
1826 (2)
1828 (1)
1831 (1)
1833 (1)
1842 (1)
1843 (1)
1845 (1)
1846 (3)
1847 (2)
1848 (1)
1850 (3)
1852 (2)
1853 (1)
1854 (2)
1859 (3)
1860 (1)
1862 (3)
1863 (1)
1864 (1)
1865 (1)
1866 (3)
1867 (2)
1868 (6)
1869 (3)
1870 (1)
1871 (3)
1872 (4)
1874 (9)
1875 (4)
1876 (2)
1877 (4)
1878 (2)
1881 (4)
Page: Prev  1 2 3 4 5  Next