skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Darwin, C. R", document-type is "letter", date is "1861::06", addressee is "Darwin, C. R."

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Darwin and C and R in keywords [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1861::06 in date [X]
Darwin, C. R. in addressee [X]
5 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From Emma Darwin   [June 1861]

Summary

Describes her compassion for all his sufferings and writes of her wish that his gratitude could be offered to heaven as well as to herself. To her, the only relief is to try to believe that suffering and illness are from God’s hand "to help us to exalt our minds & to look forward with hope to a future state".

Author:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [June 1861]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 35
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3169

Matches: 1 hit

  • … Wedgwood, Emma Darwin, Emma Darwin, C. R. …

From B. P. Brent   15 June 1861

Summary

On his father’s crossing experiments with cacti, in which hybrids were found quite fertile.

On his breeding of guinea-pigs.

Sends Miss E. Watts’s message about crested fowls and Brahmas.

Author:  Bernard Peirce Brent
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  15 June 1861
Classmark:  DAR 160.2: 300
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3184

Matches: 2 hits

  • … Brent, B. P. Darwin, C. R. …
  • … Sir | Your’s sincerly | B P Brent To C Darwin Esq r . 0.3 Dear … times— 1.4] crossed red …

From Hugh Falconer   23 June 1861

Summary

Offers CD a live Proteus anguinus from Adelsberg cave. In his hands it will have a fair chance of developing into "some type of Columbidae (say a pouter or tumbler)".

The Origin is universally praised in Italy and Germany, even by those who disagree with it.

Author:  Hugh Falconer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 June 1861
Classmark:  DAR 99: 3–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3194

Matches: 1 hit

From Robert Colgate   25 June 1861

thumbnail

Summary

Notes observations on the spread of bees in New Zealand and their importance as pollinators of clover and other introduced plants.

Author:  Robert Colgate
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 June 1861
Classmark:  DAR 76 (ser. 2): 171–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3197

Matches: 1 hit

From Thomas Francis Jamieson   13 June 1861

thumbnail

Summary

Will look for botanical specimens CD requested.

Tells of a kestrel with a broken leg which apparently was forced to change its diet to worms and snails because of the injury.

Author:  Thomas Francis Jamieson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 June 1861
Classmark:  DAR 47: 171–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3180

Matches: 1 hit

Document type
letter[X]
Addressee
Darwin, C. R.[X]
Date
1861
06
01 (1)
13 (1)
15 (1)
23 (1)
25 (1)