skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains "Darwin, C. R", date is "1876::10::12"

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
Darwin and C and R in keywords [X]
1876::10::12 in date [X]
4 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Francis Darwin   [12 October 1876]

Summary

Has seen notice on Empetrum but cannot understand how leaves in bud could act as fly-catchers.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [12 Oct 1876]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10641

Matches: 1 hit

From Asa Gray   12 October 1876

Summary

Would like sheets of Cross and self-fertilisation if it is not already out.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Oct 1876
Classmark:  DAR 165: 190
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10639

Matches: 1 hit

From M. D. Conway   12 October [1876 ]

Summary

Forwards a flower from a Mrs Crawshay, who sees its "evident struggle to become double as another instance of gradual evolution".

Author:  Moncure Daniel Conway
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Oct [1876]
Classmark:  DAR 161: 218
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13785

Matches: 1 hit

From J. I. Rogers   12 October 1876

Summary

His brother, George, reports from Calcutta a case of a man whose hands are divided like a cow’s foot.

Author:  John Innes Rogers
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Oct 1876
Classmark:  DAR 176: 195
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10640

Matches: 2 hits

  • … Rogers, J. I. Darwin, C. R. …
  • r Darwin would like. ” My brother’s commission must be my excuse for trespassing on your time, | And believe me to be, | Dear Sir, yours obdtly | J Innes Rogers C.   …
Document type
letter (4)
Addressee
Date