skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains ""

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
1868::04::14 in date [X]
1868::04::14 in date [X]
5 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Roland Trimen   14 April [1868]

Summary

Has tried using dealers’ price-lists as a guide to sex ratios in Lepidoptera; finds numerous cases in which the sexes bring different prices and in virtually all of them the males are cheaper. This seems to confirm the impression of the field collectors.

Wishes RT good luck with natural history in S. Africa.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Roland Trimen
Date:  14 Apr [1868]
Classmark:  Royal Entomological Society (Trimen papers, box 21: 68)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6117

From Richard Trevor Clarke   14 [April 1868]

Summary

Solicits CD’s support for the newly set up Royal Horticultural Society’s Scientific Committee.

Very pleased that he was put into CD’s book [Variation 1: 352].

Sends "hybridising pincers" of his own making.

Author:  Richard Trevor Clarke
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 [Apr 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 161: 168
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6118

From W. G. Howell   14 April [1868 or 1874]

Summary

Has some "vegetable caterpillars" from New Zealand and will be pleased to show them to CD if he is interested.

Author:  W. G. Howell
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Apr 1868 or 14 Apr 1874
Classmark:  DAR 166: 275
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6119

To John Murray   14 April [1868]

Summary

About the advertising and title of a book [the translation of Fritz Müller’s Für Darwin, see 6114].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray
Date:  14 Apr [1868]
Classmark:  RR Auction (dealers) (June 2006)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6119A

From J. J. Weir   [14 April 1868]

thumbnail

Summary

Starlings find new mates readily. Nesting in threes common.

Recognition of song by birds.

Author:  John Jenner Weir
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [14 Apr 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 88–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6152