skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains ""

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
1868::04::04 in date [X]
1868::04::04 in date [X]
3 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To J. J. Weir   4 April [1868]

Summary

CD thanks JJW for the mine of information his last "ten!" letters contain. Comments on sexual display of pheasants and colour preferences of pigeons.

Asks about hens that pair earliest in spring and about possible existence of unpaired birds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Jenner Weir
Date:  4 Apr [1868]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Getz 6090)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6090

To Edward Blyth   4 April [1868]

Summary

Glad to hear about colours of Hylobates.

Cannot find any statement about which digits in man are most subject to syndactylism in Isidore Geoffroy [Saint-Hilaire]’s Histoire des anomalies [1832–7].

Asks questions concerned with seasonal and sexual changes in plumage of various bird species.

Does male woodpecker share in incubation?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Blyth
Date:  4 Apr [1868]
Classmark:  McGill University Library, Department of Rare Books
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6091

From M. T. Masters   4 April 1868

Summary

MTM did not write Gardeners’ Chronicle review of Variation [(1868): 184].

Encloses letters supporting a project [Botanical Congress?] to promote horticulture, and hopes CD will reconsider giving his support.

Author:  Maxwell Tylden Masters
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Apr 1868
Classmark:  DAR 171: 76
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6092
Document type
letter (3)
Date