skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains ""

Darwin Correspondence Project
1864 in date [X]
1864 in date [X]
letter in document-type [X]
letter in document-type [X]
376 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From Emma Darwin to Hermann Kindt   14 October [1864]


Writes, for CD, to thank him for his letter and offer to send Unsere Zeit, but will not trouble him to send it.

Sends photograph of CD.

Author:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Addressee:  Hermann Adolph Christian August (Hermann) Kindt
Date:  14 Oct [1864]
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin–Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 238–239 )
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13791

To Hermann Kindt   17 September 1864


Sends his thanks for a kind letter; he has copied out the last sentence of the Origin.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hermann Adolph Christian August (Hermann) Kindt
Date:  17 Sept 1864
Classmark:  J. A. Stargardt (dealer) (11 and 12 June 2002); Manchester Libraries, Information and Archives (Autograph Letters: Harland Collection, vol. 1, p. 67, GB127.MS f 091 H15)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13874

To John Scott   8 January [1864]


Glad correspondent’s paper went well.

Poor health and much work forces CD to be brief.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  8 Jan [1864]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13882

From H. C. Watson   [16 May 1864]


Cover containing some seeds mentioned in the letter to H. C. Watson, 28 May [1864], f.2 (S 4512).

Author:  Hewett Cottrell Watson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [16 May 1864]
Classmark:  DAR 142: 94
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13891H

To Frederick Smith   [c. 17 February 1864?]



Sends, for identification, specimens of bees and wasps which fertilise orchids. [Notes in FS’s hand on the same sheet identify the specimens.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Frederick Smith
Date:  [c. 17 Feb 1864?]
Classmark:  DAR 70: 162
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3365

From Emma and Charles Darwin to W. E. Darwin   [20 May 1864]


CD much obliged for specimen and drawings.

Author:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin; Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  [20 May 1864]
Classmark:  DAR 97: A7
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3366

To Charles William Crocker   31 January [1864]


Reminds CWC that he offered to give information with respect to his observations on hollyhocks. Wishes he could persuade CWC to undertake experiments on the fertility of some crosses between the most distinct varieties.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles William Crocker
Date:  31 Jan [1864]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection: FF8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3425

From Henrietta Emma Darwin to W. E. Darwin   [16 March 1864]


CD wants WED to make some measurements on mid-styled [Primula sinensis] plants.

Author:  Henrietta Emma Darwin; Henrietta Emma Litchfield
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  [16 Mar 1864]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 116
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3633

To Daniel Oliver   31 March [1864]


Asks DO to give enclosed [letter?] from John Scott to Hooker.

JS’s work on orchid self-sterility; Acropera has 371250 seeds in one capsule.

Wishes something could be done for Scott.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Daniel Oliver
Date:  31 Mar [1864]
Classmark:  DAR 261.10: 44 (EH 88206027)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4068

To H. B. Dobell   17 July [1864]


Thanks HBD for his note. The analogy of surnames had not occurred to CD – only that of language generally, as shown so well by Lyell. Fears HBD’s argument about progression would not have much weight.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Horace Benge Dobell
Date:  17 July [1864]
Classmark:  DAR 221.5: 8 (photocopy)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4239

From Francis Trevelyan Buckland   [before 11 December 1864]


Salmon and trout increase in size with river.

Wishes to show CD fish hatchery near Hampton Court.

Quoted CD’s book on self-destruction within species in a salmon arbitration case.

Author:  Francis Trevelyan (Frank) Buckland
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 11 Dec 1864]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 358
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4363

From E. A. Darwin   [after 31 March 1864?]


Sends "2 pods ¼ gr each" to tide CD over.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 31 Mar 1864?]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4364

From Erasmus Alvey Darwin   [1864?]


Asks CD to sign some "Sunday tickets" [for the Zoological Garden?].

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1864?]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B17
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4365

From William Jenner   [after 24 November] 1864


CD’s urine is normal. He may take antacids for his stomach.

Author:  William Jenner
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 24 Nov] 1864
Classmark:  DAR 168: 48
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4367

From William Jenner to Emma Darwin   [17 March 1864]


Proposes to examine CD at Down.

Author:  William Jenner
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [17 Mar 1864]
Classmark:  DAR 168: 49
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4368

From W. E. Darwin   [after 19 May 1864]


[Outline sketches of pollen from long- and short-styled yellow cowslips and from a red cowslip.]

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 19 May 1864]
Classmark:  DAR 108: 83
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4369

From E. A. Darwin to Emma Darwin   30 [March 1864?]


Sends Effie’s [K. E. Wedgwood] letter;

recounts other family news.

Is interested in CD’s thoughts on podophyllin.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  30 [Mar 1864?]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B118
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4374

To John Lubbock   [1 January 1864]


JL’s review of Huxley ["Lectures to working men", Nat. Hist. Rev. n.s. 4 (1864)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  [1 Jan 1864]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 61 (EH 88206505)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4375

To Alfred Russel Wallace   1 January 1864


Asa Gray’s high opinion of ARW as a reviewer [reference to S. Haughton’s paper on bees’ cells, Ann. & Mag. Nat. Hist. 3d ser. 11 (1863): 415–29, reviewed by ARW in "Remarks on the Rev. S. Haughton’s paper", Ann. & Mag. Nat. Hist. 3d ser. 12 (1863): 303–9].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  1 Jan 1864
Classmark:  The British Library (Add. MS 46434: 31)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4376

From Ernst Haeckel   2 January 1864


Returns letter mailed by mistake [see 4361].

Hopes CD will accept gift of his Radiolarien [Die Radiolarien, 2 vols. (1862)].

Author:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Jan 1864
Classmark:  DAR 166: 36
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4377
Document type
01 (26)
02 (20)
03 (28)
04 (42)
05 (49)
06 (32)
07 (28)
08 (23)
09 (22)
10 (26)
11 (36)
12 (44)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next