skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains ""

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
1842 in date [X]
1842 in date [X]
letter in document-type [X]
letter in document-type [X]
57 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3  Next

To William Baxter or W. W. Baxter   8 December [1842–81]

Summary

Orders large pot of spermaceti ointment.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Walmisley Baxter; William Baxter
Date:  8 Dec [1842-81]
Classmark:  University of Otago, Special Collections (MS 49)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11271F

To William Baxter or W. W. Baxter   [1842–82]

Summary

Orders pot of soft spermaceti ointment.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Walmisley Baxter; William Baxter
Date:  [1842–82]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.536)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11313

To W. W. Baxter or William Baxter   10 [October 1842 – March 1882]

Summary

Orders distilled water, 2 oz of camphorated spirits, and perfume.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Walmisley Baxter; William Baxter
Date:  10 [1842 or later]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13776

From Hugh Falconer    [1842–3]

thumbnail

Summary

Has seen lately a true ruminant with the two central metacarpals distinct. It was the foot of an Anoplotherium in a recent ruminant.

Author:  Hugh Falconer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1842–3]
Classmark:  DAR 205.5: 215
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13805

To Charles Edward and Mary Kingford Mudie   10 December [1842–5 or 1855–68]

Summary

Declines invitation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Edward Mudie; Mary Kingsford Mudie
Date:  10 Dec [1842-5 or 1855-68]
Classmark:  University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Rare Book and Manuscript Library (Charles E. Mudie Collection, 1816–1897: Correspondence, B29)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13828

To ?   [1842–82]

Summary

Will be glad to see recipient and Mr Morris at Down the following day.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Wickham Flower
Date:  [1842–82]
Classmark:  eBay (April 2001)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13867G

To William Baxter or W. W. Baxter   24 October [1842–5 or 1853 or 1855–68?]

Summary

Sends enclosed order for two bottles [of unspecified chemical].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Walmisley Baxter; William Baxter
Date:  24 Oct [1842-5, 1853 or 1855-68]
Classmark:  University of California, Berkeley, The Bancroft Library (BANC MSS 74/78 z)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1768

To John Price    29 November [1842–55]

Summary

Not able to assist JP as he knows no schoolmaster in the area.

Cannot answer zoological question but thinks the two Serpulae are distinct.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Price
Date:  29 Nov [1842-55]
Classmark:  University of California, Berkeley, The Bancroft Library (BANC MSS 74/78 z)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1786

To Charles Lyell   [September–December 1842]

Summary

Discusses relationship of subsidence to the formation of coral reefs.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [Sept–Dec 1842]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.30)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-605

From Alexander Bridport Becher   1 September 1842

Summary

Francis Beaufort has instructed ABB to order three copies of Coral Reefs.

Author:  Alexander Bridport Becher
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Sept 1842
Classmark:  United Kingdom Hydrographic Office Archive (Letter Book no .10 (1841–2), p. 510)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-605F

To William Yarrell   [5 or 12 September 1842]

Summary

CD is too dull and languid to see Mr Bicheno but will be glad to answer his questions if he writes.

Asks WY to ask J. Sebright "whether the cross with white bantam brought back any of the ""secondary male characters"" to the hen–cock breed".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Yarrell
Date:  [5 or 12] Sept 1842
Classmark:  Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand (MS-Papers-1256-2)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-613

To Charles Stokes    [January–March 1842]

thumbnail

Summary

Returns snuff box.

Sends a microscope for repair.

Makes appointment to discuss some corals that he is sending.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Stokes
Date:  [Jan–Mar 1842]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 91
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-613A

To Leonard Jenyns   [13? January 1842]

Summary

CD is pleased with LJ’s introduction [to Fish]. He rejoices that he persuaded LJ to undertake this work.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Leonard Jenyns; Leonard Blomefield
Date:  [13? Jan 1842]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-614

To J. S. Henslow   [26 January 1842]

Summary

CD relates that Robert Brown is anxious to have [C. M.] Leman[n] elected librarian of the Linnean Society and urges JSH to come to vote for him. CD joins in the request.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [26 Jan 1842]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-615

To the Geological Society of London   31 January [1842]

Summary

Hopes to meet with museum committee after 11 o’clock next day.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Geological Society of London
Date:  31 Jan [1842]
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/L/R/7/25)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-616

To J. F. Royle   [2 February 1842]

Summary

Asks JFR to support E. A. Darwin’s election to the Athenaeum.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Forbes Royle
Date:  [2 Feb 1842]
Classmark:  University of Rochester Library, Department of Rare Books and Special Collections
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-617

To Francis Boott   [3 February 1842]

Summary

"My Dear Sir, I have called on you, to solicit your vote & interest at the Athenaeum Club […] in favour of my brother, Erasmus Darwin".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Boott
Date:  [3 Feb 1842]
Classmark:  Christie’s (dealers) (13 December 2006, lot 34)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-617F

To Richard Owen   [4 February 1842]

Summary

Informs Owen of the fossil finds of F. J. Muñiz in south America.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [4 Feb 1842]
Classmark:  Enns Entomology Museum, University of Missouri
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-617G

To Henry Thomas De la Beche   7 February 1842

Summary

Asks De la Beche about variation among domesticated animals in Jamaica.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Thomas De la Beche
Date:  7 Feb 1842
Classmark:  National Museum of Wales, Department of Natural Sciences (De la Beche)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-618

To Hugh Edwin Strickland   17 February [1842]

Summary

CD approves of HES’s "laws" [of nomenclature]. Regrets that [J. E.?] Gray does not approve of the scheme. CD has sent the paper to William Ogilby and suggests that HES send it to G. R. Waterhouse, of whom he has a high opinion.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Edwin Strickland
Date:  17 Feb [1842]
Classmark:  Museum of Zoology Archives, University of Cambridge (Strickland Papers)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-619
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1842
01 (8)
02 (7)
03 (4)
04 (1)
05 (6)
06 (1)
07 (4)
08 (4)
09 (8)
10 (8)
11 (3)
12 (3)
Page: 1 2 3  Next