skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
in the full text  [X]
1832::10 in date [X]
3 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From Catherine Darwin   14 October [1832]

Summary

Writes news of family, Maer, and Woodhouse. His father has sent for a banana tree

and plans to buy J. J. Audubon’s book [Birds of America (1827)].

Charles Langton has been given a living near Ludlow.

Author:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Oct [1832]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 86
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-187

To Caroline Darwin   24 October – 24 November [1832]

Summary

During the past two months CD has been lucky with fossil bones, and he is also finding new specimens of living animals.

He describes an ostrich hunt.

Has received several letters from home.

He enjoys Buenos Aires and admires the señoritas. Tierra del Fuego is next.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Caroline Sarah Darwin; Caroline Sarah Wedgwood
Date:  24 Oct & 24 Nov [1832]
Classmark:  AL incomplete
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-188

To J. S. Henslow   [c. 26 October –] 24 November [1832]

Summary

A French collector [Alcide d’Orbigny] has been at the Rio Negro and will probably have "taken the cream". CD’s luck with fossil bones, among them a large extinct armadillo-like animal. Describes some birds, toads, Crustacea, and other marine specimens. Nearly all plants flowering at Bahia Blanca were collected. Is sending two large casks of fossil bones by packet.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  [c. 26 Oct–] 24 Nov [1832]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-192