skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
in the full text  [X]
1832::05 in date [X]
4 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

To Catherine Darwin   May–June [1832]


Lists letters received and those sent; comments on family happenings.

The Beagle is back [from Bahia]; two sailors and "little [Charles] Musters" died of fever. In 14 days they sail for Montevideo, then to Rio Negro, then on to where no man is known to have been before.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emily Catherine (Catherine) Darwin; Emily Catherine (Catherine) Langton
Date:  May–June [1832]
Classmark:  DAR 223
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-169

To W. D. Fox   May 1832


Writes of voyage and his work in natural history: geology, collecting insects (freshwater beetles and spiders at Botofogo Bay); life at sea, sublime views ashore.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Darwin Fox
Date:  May 1832
Classmark:  Christ’s College Library, Cambridge (MS 53 Fox 46)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-168

From Susan Darwin   12 May [– 2 June] 1832


News from Maer and Shrewsbury of family, friends, and reports of reactions to CD’s first letters.

Sedgwick suggests he look for fossils in gravel banks of rivers.

Fanny Owen is married to R. M. Biddulph. Reform Bill prospects.

Author:  Susan Elizabeth Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 May [– 2 June] 1832
Classmark:  DAR 204: 96
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-170

To J. S. Henslow   18 May – 16 June 1832


His first letter to JSH since December. Recounts his seasickness, geologising and marine collecting at St Jago [Santiago, Cape Verde Is.]; his first tropical forest. Collecting small insects from the tropics. His Welsh trip with Sedgwick has been extremely valuable.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  18 May & 16 June 1832
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-171
Document type
letter (4)
01 (2)
12 (1)
18 (1)