skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
in the full text  [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1868 in date [X]
808 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From Richard Barwell   [1868?]


Crying and the action of the orbicularis.

Author:  Richard Barwell
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1868?]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 52a (fragile)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5749

To [G. R. Gray?]   [1868–72?]


Testimonial for a position as a librarian. Recipient is the author of a great monograph on the Picidae [woodpeckers].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Robert Gray
Date:  [1868–72]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 58
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6524

From Hermann Müller January   [1868]


Thanks CD for his photograph.

Intends to start experimenting with mosses to determine which differences in structure are effected by altered conditions of life.

Author:  Heinrich Ludwig Hermann (Hermann) Müller
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Jan [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 171: 288
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5770

From Osbert Salvin   [1868?]



Notes on sexual differences within certain species of birds.

Author:  Osbert Salvin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1868?]
Classmark:  DAR 84.1: 172–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5758

From Hensleigh Wedgwood   [1868–70?]



Development of complex language does not require an early civilisation. [See Descent 1: 56ff.]

Author:  Hensleigh Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1868–70?]
Classmark:  DAR 80: 164–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7040

From Hewett Cottrell Watson to Joseph Dalton Hooker   1 January 186[8]


HCW’s criticisms of CD’s theory.

Author:  Watson, H. C
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  1 Jan 186[8]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, DC 105 f.222
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5077F

From Friedrich Hildebrand   2 January 1868


Reports making graft-hybrid potatoes.

Has found direct action of pollen in Mays [Zea] crosses and apple-trees.

F. Delpino has asked for CD’s address.

Author:  Friedrich Hermann Gustav (Friedrich) Hildebrand
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 166: 207
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5774

To Roland Trimen   2 January [1868]


CD seeks information on the variation of ocelli within species of butterflies.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Roland Trimen
Date:  2 Jan [1868]
Classmark:  Royal Entomological Society (Trimen papers, box 21: 62)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5772

From Alfred Wrigley   2 January 1868


Expresses his gratification on reading of Leonard Darwin’s high placing on the Sandhurst list.

Author:  Alfred Wrigley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 181: 180
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5773

From C. S. Vesselofski   3 January 1868


CD has been elected a Corresponding Member of the Biology Section of the Académie Impériale des Sciences, St Petersburg.

Author:  Constantin Stepanovich Vesselofski
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 172: 14
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5775

From Edward Blyth   4 January 1868


Discusses mule canaries which show a tendency to revert to wild plumage colours.

Author:  Edward Blyth
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 160: 211
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5776

From F. A. von Hartsen   5 January 1868


Sends portion of his book, Grundlegung von Aesthetik [1869]. Argues that CD’s theory can be reconciled with religion.

Author:  Frederik Anthony von Hartsen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 166: 113
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5778

To Friedrich Hildebrand   5 January [1868]


Congratulates FH on graft-hybrid of potato. Importance of FH’s discovery to be discussed in Variation [2d ed., 1: 420].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Friedrich Hermann Gustav (Friedrich) Hildebrand
Date:  5 Jan [1868]
Classmark:  Klaus Groove (private collection) (Original sold by Venator and Hanstein, Cologne (dealers), 16 March 2018.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5777

From J. D. Hooker   [before 6 January 1868?]



Discusses Balanophora with conspicuous male flowers and absent female perianth.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 6 Jan 1868?]
Classmark:  DAR 47: 194
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5789

To Thomas Belt   6 January [1868]


Asks about expression of emotion among Negroes and American Indians in Nicaragua. Queries enclosed.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Belt
Date:  6 Jan [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 77
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6546

To J. D. Hooker   6 January [1868]


Thanks for plant names.

H. C. Watson a renegade about natural selection. Discusses HCW’s views.

F. Müller’s letter enclosed.

Friedrich Hildebrand’s experiments are splendid for Pangenesis [Die Geschlechter-Vertheilung bei den Pflanzen (1867)].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  6 Jan [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 39–40
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5779

From William Sweetland Dallas   8 January 1868


Has sent off last portion of index [to Variation]. Hopes CD will be pleased with it. Will never undertake such labour again. He fears it has been an unfavourable way to make CD’s acquaintance. Trusts to CD’s goodness not to hate his name for the rest of his life.

Author:  William Sweetland Dallas
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Jan 1868
Classmark:  DAR 162: 9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5780

From John Scott   8 January [1868]


Asks CD for memorandum giving his opinion on a proposal to move the site of the Calcutta Botanic Garden. Gives details of the position, the physical character and the climate of the present site to show how desirable a move would be.

Author:  John Scott
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Jan [1868]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 116
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5351

From William Bernhard Tegetmeier   8 January [1868?]


Has seen CD’s "carte" offered for sale.

Author:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Jan [1868?]
Classmark:  DAR 178: 69
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4971

To John Scott   [after 8 January 1868]


Supports relocating the Calcutta Botanic Garden to a site near the Himalayas.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  [after 8 Jan 1868]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 116v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-5352
Document type
01 (69)
02 (143)
03 (120)
04 (81)
05 (75)
06 (47)
07 (39)
08 (42)
09 (66)
10 (45)
11 (46)
12 (35)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next