skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
in the full text  [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1877 in date [X]
620 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From Marcellin de Bonnal   [1877]

Summary

Asks CD why some living forms have evolved and others have not.

Author:  Antoine-Marcellin (Marcellin) de Bonnal
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 201: 6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13779

From Alphonse de Candolle   January 1877

Summary

Introduces his son Casimir, who is visiting England.

Author:  Alphonse de Candolle
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 161: 20
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10759

To [E. M. Dicey?]   [1877]

Summary

Gives his opinion on the education of girls in physiology. Would regret that any girl who wished to learn physiology should be checked.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Elinor Mary Bonham-Carter; Elinor Mary Dicey
Date:  [1877]
Classmark:  DAR 202: 41
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10746

From Sigmund Fuchs   [1877–8?]

Summary

Asks if CD agrees with Carl Claus’s Grundzüge der Zoologie [3d ed. (1876)], in separating tunicates from molluscs.

Author:  Sigmund Fuchs
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1877–8?]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 221
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10336

To Sigmund Fuchs   [1877–8?]

Summary

[Draft of letter for Francis Darwin to write to SF.] CD declines to express an opinion on SF’s query.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Sigmund Fuchs
Date:  [1877–8?]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 221v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10337

From Alpheus Hyatt   January 1877

Summary

Reports on his work. Relationships of shells found at Steinheim; attempts to elucidate the genesis of different forms.

Author:  Alpheus Hyatt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 166: 357, 359
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10760

From Adolphe de Stillfried   [1877?]

Summary

Writes of his admiration for CD and requests an autograph or photo.

Author:  Adolphe de Stillfried
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1877?]
Classmark:  DAR 177: 257
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10744

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   [early 1877?]

Summary

Thanks WTT-D for his comments on and praise of his book [Forms of flowers].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  [early 1877?]
Classmark:  DAR 111: B58v
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10758

To ?   [1877–81]

Summary

Letter of reference giving his opinion of the character of a man who has been his footman for a year.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [1877–81]
Classmark:  DAR 202: 92
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10745

To Octavian Blewitt   1 January 1877

Summary

A letter in support of [Ann Jane] Cupples’ request to the Royal Literary Fund for assistance. Her talent, industry, and need.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Octavian Blewitt
Date:  1 Jan 1877
Classmark:  British Library (Loan 96 RLF 1/2015/8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10764F

From E. A. Darwin   [1 January 1877]

Summary

Would like Price’s address.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1 Jan 1877]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B96
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10763

From Arthur Mellersh   1 January 1877

Summary

Has "the missing link" been found in New Guinea, as he read in the newspaper?

Offers CD the nest of a foreign bird pressed on him by a neighbour.

Author:  Arthur Mellersh
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 171: 148
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10764

To Alfred Newton   2 January 1877

Summary

Thanks AN for telling him of the complex cross among wagtails. CD is surprised that so much close interbreeding does not check their propagation.

CD does not suppose he will ever have strength to work up his data on hybridism, so he will not write to Mr Monk.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Newton
Date:  2 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Cambridge University Library (MS Add. 9839/1D/63)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10766

From Charles and Francis Darwin to G. J. Romanes   2 January [1877]

Summary

Agrees to propose GJR for membership in Royal Society.

Remarks on GJR’s paper on Medusae [Philos. Trans. R. Soc. Lond. 167 (1877): 659–752].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin; Francis Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  2 Jan [1877]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.503)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10765

From T. A. B. Spratt   2 January 1877

Summary

TABS is pleased that CD found something of interest in his researches in Crete [Travels and researches in Crete (1869)].

Author:  Thomas Abel Brimage Spratt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 177: 240
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10767

To Gardeners’ Chronicle   3 January [1877]

Summary

Suggests that the scarcity of holly berries is owing to the scarcity of bees during the spring, rather than to frost. He does not know what caused the scarcity of bees.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Gardeners’ Chronicle
Date:  3 Jan [1877]
Classmark:  Gardeners’ Chronicle, 6 January 1877, p. 19
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10769

To Asa Gray   3 January 1877

Summary

Asks AG not to send his rare specimens [of Leucosmia].

Is glad of the notice about black pigs.

Has great faith in Jeffries Wyman;

thinks A. R. Wallace founds his speculation on a feeble basis.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  3 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (118)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10768

From Francis Darwin to the Auckland Star   4 January 1877

Summary

His father is grateful for the account of the alleged discovery of men with tails.

His father does not believe in their existence of the tailed men, although the tails may be an inherited monstrosity.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Auckland Star
Date:  4 Jan 1877
Classmark:  Auckland Star, 1 March 1877, p. 2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10770F

To G. J. Romanes   4 January 1877

Summary

Discusses certificate proposing GJR as Fellow of Royal Society.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George John Romanes
Date:  4 Jan 1877
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.504)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10770

From R. F. Cooke   5 January 1877

Summary

Orchids [2d ed.] will soon be published.

1000 more copies of Descent [2d ed.] will soon have to be printed, so CD could send any alterations to be made in the plates.

Author:  Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  5 Jan 1877
Classmark:  DAR 171: 484
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10771
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1877
01 (78)
02 (53)
03 (53)
04 (32)
05 (40)
06 (60)
07 (66)
08 (42)
09 (41)
10 (64)
11 (49)
12 (42)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next