skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
in the full text  [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1870 in date [X]
382 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From E. A. Darwin   [1870–81]

Summary

Share dealings.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1870–81]]
Classmark:  DAR 105: 111
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-12379

To W. E. Darwin   [1870–82]

Summary

Two letters have arrived for WED.

Joseph has had two teeth out.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  [1870–82]
Classmark:  Christie’s (dealers) (17 November 1995)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13799F

From Federico Delpino   [1870]

Summary

Sends CD "L’applicazione della teoria Darwiniana ai fiori ed agli insetti visitatori dei fiori" [Bull. Soc. Entomol. Ital. 2 (1870)]. Continues to support vitalism and teleology.

Author:  Federico Delpino
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1870]
Classmark:  DAR 162: 141
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7055

To District Health Office   [1870–82]

Summary

Gives opinion on the merits of Mr [Stephen P. J.] Eng[leheart (Darwin family doctor)]. Believes he would make an excellent county officer if elected to the district office of health.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  District Health Office
Date:  [1870–82]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 165
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-8704

From Charles Ottley Groom Napier   January 1870

Summary

COG-N sends, at the request of the late Lord Brougham, a copy of his work, The book of nature and the book of man [1870].

Author:  Charles Ottley Groom Napier
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Jan 1870
Classmark:  DAR 165: 228
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7068

From Rowland H. Wedgwood   [1870–82]

Summary

An instance of long memory in a horse.

Author:  Rowland Henry Wedgwood
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1870–82]
Classmark:  G. J. Romanes (1882): 330
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13855A

To?   [1870–82]

Summary

Printed acknowledgment of the receipt of a letter.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [1870–82]
Classmark:  DAR 133: 1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13859

To ?   [1870–82]

Summary

Query [possibly for publication] on ridges and furrows in pasture-land that had been ploughed long ago. Gives directions for measuring ridges on sloping land.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [1870–82]
Classmark:  DAR 63: 87
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13885

From William Turner   3 January 1870

thumbnail

Summary

On the development of the mammae and the glands of the skin. R. A. v. Kölliker and Carl von Langer are the authorities [See Descent 1: 209].

Author:  William Turner
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Jan 1870
Classmark:  DAR 80: B158–9
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7088

From Francis Darwin   [before 4 January 1870]

Summary

Humphrey does not think more bones in female os coccyx than in male. Because of maceration it is impossible to compare male and female skeletons. Has another coach while Stuart ill.

Author:  Francis Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 4 Jan 1870]
Classmark:  DAR 274.1: 18
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6520F

To Anton Dohrn   4 January 1870

Summary

The Zoological Garden has only one old adult male of Limulus. When there were females, eggs were never observed.

Encloses a separate letter [7071] about AD’s scheme [for a zoological station].

Suggests AD be cautious [in his work]. "Caution is almost the soul of science."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Felix Anton (Anton) Dohrn
Date:  4 Jan 1870
Classmark:  Bayerische Staatsbibliothek München (Ana 525. Ba 697); Bibliothèque de Genève (Ms. fr. 2188, ff. 296-7)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7070

To Abraham Dee Bartlett   5 January [1870]

Summary

Thanks ADB for Limulus.

Does Callithrix sciureus wrinkle the skin around its eyes when it screams? Do the eyes become suffused with moisture?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Abraham Dee Bartlett
Date:  5 Jan [1870]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7072

To Charles Boner   [before 8 January 1870]

Summary

Has received [read?] CB’s two works [Chamois hunting in the mountains of Bavaria (2d ed., 1860) and Forest creatures (1871)] and has made use of them in his present book [Descent].

CB’s descriptions of the Tyrol make CD long to be "strong and young again to ramble over the mountains".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Boner
Date:  [before 8 Jan 1870]
Classmark:  Kettle ed. 1871, p. 77
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7073

From Charles Boner   8 January 1870

Summary

Is glad CD liked Chamois hunting [in Bavaria (1853, 1860)].

Regrets CD’s poor health.

Sends his book, Transylvania [1865].

Author:  Charles Boner
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Jan 1870
Classmark:  DAR 160: 239
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7074

To Richard Kippist   10 January [1870 or 1871]

Summary

Is sending some books for the Linnean Society Library.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Kippist; Linnean Society
Date:  10 Jan [1870-1]
Classmark:  Linnean Society of London
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7434

From Adolf Reuter   11 January 1870

Summary

Sends monstrous oranges,

red grape leaves,

and a bean with blue fruits (a hybrid of Phaseolus vulgaris and a Dolichos species).

Author:  Adolf Reuter
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Jan 1870
Classmark:  DAR 176: 127
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7075

From Anton Dohrn   13 January 1870

Summary

Thanks CD for his support and for his cautionary advice.

Will send his work on embryology of arthropods as soon as it is finished [Bau und Entwicklung der Arthropoden (1870)].

Author:  Felix Anton (Anton) Dohrn
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Jan 1870
Classmark:  DAR 162: 205
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7076

To Albert Günther   13 January [1870]

Summary

Delighted with proofs of illustrations [for Descent]. Hopes AG is pleased with them, as they illustrate facts given on his authority.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Albrecht Carl Ludwig Gotthilf (Albert) Günther
Date:  13 Jan [1870]
Classmark:  Shrewsbury School, Taylor Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7077

From Albert Günther   [after 13 January 1870]

Summary

Is glad CD likes the proofs; looks forward to the appearance of his work.

Author:  Albrecht Carl Ludwig Gotthilf (Albert) Günther
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 13 Jan 1870]
Classmark:  DAR 165: 244
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7078

To Adolf Reuter   15 January [1870]

Summary

Thanks AR for specimens of fruit.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Adolf Reuter
Date:  15 Jan [1870]
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 220–221)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7079
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1870
01 (32)
02 (39)
03 (34)
04 (26)
05 (34)
06 (51)
07 (37)
08 (22)
09 (20)
10 (26)
11 (37)
12 (24)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next