skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
in the full text  [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1866 in date [X]
412 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To George Howard Darwin   [1866]

Summary

Asks GHD what the chances are against squinting and non-squinting children coming alternately in a family of ten.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  [1866]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4961

To a local landowner   [1866?]

Summary

Requests that correspondent take some action regarding the state of horses on his farm. Robert Ainslie of Tromer Lodge, Down, was fined in 1852 following CD’s complaints.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Landowner, local
Date:  [1866?]
Classmark:  DAR 96: 27r
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4963

From Charles John Robinson   [1866?]

Summary

Has a small living at Norton Canon.

Will visit Charles Whitley next week.

Author:  Charles John Robinson
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1866?]
Classmark:  DAR 176: 188
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4966

To Henry Bence Jones   3 January [1866]

Summary

A report on his somewhat improved health.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Bence Jones
Date:  3 Jan [1866]
Classmark:  DAR 249: 86
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4968A

From Emily Catherine Langton to Emma and Charles Darwin   [6 and 7? January 1866]

Summary

CL is aware that she is dying and so says her farewells.

Author:  Emily Caroline (Lena) Langton
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin; Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [6 and 7? Jan 1866]
Classmark:  V&A / Wedgwood Collection (MS W/M 202)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4968

To Philip Lutley Sclater   6 January [1866]

Summary

Discussion of ducks. CD asks for information on a domestic Chinese race about which Robert Swinhoe wrote to CD. Compares Chinese duck with Anas poecilorhyncha and Boschas.

Notes improvement in health.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Philip Lutley Sclater
Date:  6 Jan [1866]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.311)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4970

From Ernst Haeckel   11 January 1866

Summary

Comments on CD’s health.

Discusses origin of life and differentiation of principal classes of plants and animals.

Discusses Generelle Morphologie and its chapter on embryological development.

His lectures on CD’s theory.

Asks CD for larger portrait of himself and for several copies of the small photograph. Will send photographs of German scientists in exchange.

Author:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Jan 1866
Classmark:  DAR 166: 41
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4973

To Fritz Müller   11 January 1866

Summary

Has read FM’s paper on sponges ["Über Darwinella aurea", Arch. Miskrosk. Anat. 1 (1865): 344–53] with interest.

Has also read FM’s work on the metamorphoses of Peneus [Ann. & Mag. Nat. Hist. 3d ser. 14 (1864): 104–15], an interesting and important embryological discovery.

CD regards Louis Agassiz’s opinions as valueless.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Johann Friedrich Theodor (Fritz) Müller
Date:  11 Jan 1866
Classmark:  British Library (Loan MS 10 no 5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4972

From Jeffries Wyman   11 January 1866

Summary

Has made observations on bees’ cells. Their dimensions are not constant, nor do single bees make single cells; each one is a result of co-operation.

Author:  Jeffries Wyman
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  11 Jan 1866
Classmark:  DAR 181: 191
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4974

To Joseph Dalton Hooker   15 [January 1866]

thumbnail

Summary

In despair: has lost his copy of Verlot’s memoir on variations of flowers [Sur la production et la fixation des variétés (1866)]. Has JDH borrowed it?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  15 [Jan 1866]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 280
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4976

From J. D. Hooker   16 January 1866

thumbnail

Summary

Is in a mess with his correspondence and will get no assistance before 1 April.

Has agreed to give an address on the Darwinian theory at Nottingham [meeting of BAAS].

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Jan 1866
Classmark:  DAR 102: 53–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4978

To William Bernhard Tegetmeier   16 January [1866]

Summary

What progress has been made with pigeon drawings for Variation?

Can WBT persuade Mr Zurhorst to repeat a pigeon experiment?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  16 Jan [1866]
Classmark:  Archives of The New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection) (Tegetmeier 93)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4977

To [James Samuelson?]   19 January [1866?]

Summary

CD is happy to sign photograph. He will only require one copy of the journal.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Samuelson
Date:  19 Jan [1866?]
Classmark:  Dreweatts Bloomsbury Auctions (dealers) (25 September 2014)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4977F

To Ernst Haeckel   20 January [1866]

Summary

Sends copies of photographs of himself. Asks for photographs of German naturalists.

Comments on EH’s account of Protogenes primordialis.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Date:  20 Jan [1866]
Classmark:  Ernst-Haeckel-Haus (Bestand A-Abt. 1-52/8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4980

To J. D. Hooker   21 [January 1866]

thumbnail

Summary

Has found Verlot.

His sister [Emily Catherine Langton] is dying [d. 2 Feb 1866].

His stomach still very bad. Writes one or two hours and reads a little.

JDH is a wretch to remind CD of his coal-plant prophecy.

Glad JDH will give Nottingham lecture.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  21 [Jan 1866]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 281
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4981

From W. B. Tegetmeier   22 January [1866]

Summary

Discusses pigeon and poultry woodcuts [for Variation].

WBT’s poultry book is at last in the hands of a solvent publisher [The poultry book (1867)].

Author:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Jan [1866]
Classmark:  DAR 178: 71
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4983

To Alfred Russel Wallace   22 January 1866

Summary

Welcomes ARW’s paper on pigeons ["On the pigeons of the Malay Archipelago", Ibis 1 (1865): 365–400].

Influence of monkeys on distribution of pigeons and parrots.

Asks ARW to explain a passage in his paper on Malayan Papilionidae [Trans. Linn. Soc. Lond. 25 (1866): 1–71] on how dimorphic forms are produced. CD knows of varieties "that will not blend or intermix", but which produce offspring quite like either parent.

ARW’s remarks on geographical distribution in Celebes "will give a cold shudder to the immutable naturalists".

Presses ARW to work on his travel journal.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  22 Jan 1866
Classmark:  British Library (Add 46434, f. 61)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4982

From J. D. Hooker   23 January 1866

thumbnail

Summary

Sorrow about Mrs Langton. Has been haunted by death these six or eight years. Now cannot bear to look at children asleep in bed – a sight he once thought the loveliest thing in creation.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  23 Jan 1866
Classmark:  DAR 102: 55–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4984

From W. B. Tegetmeier   [after 24 January 1866]

Summary

Thanks for the remittance.

Both WBT and Mr Zurhorst will repeat Zurhorst’s experiment to eliminate any chance of error.

Edward Blyth is writing on Indian cattle for the Field [27 (1866): 55–6, 77].

Author:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 24 Jan 1866]
Classmark:  DAR 178: 70
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4979

From Ernst Haeckel   28 January 1866

Summary

Discusses exchange of photographs with German scientists.

Comments on attitudes of German scientists toward CD’s theory.

Names several scientists who exchanged photographs: Braun, Virchow, Leydig, and Dohrn.

Author:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  28 Jan 1866
Classmark:  DAR 166: 42
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4985
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1866
01 (22)
02 (43)
03 (26)
04 (43)
05 (36)
06 (30)
07 (31)
08 (35)
09 (21)
10 (41)
11 (34)
12 (50)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next