skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
in the full text  [X]
letter in document-type [X]
1863 in date [X]
526 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From E. A. Darwin   [1863–6?]

Summary

Has signed for the shares. Fears CD’s "good time" has not lasted long.

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1863–6?]
Classmark:  DAR 105: B34
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4726

To ? [‘Julian’]   [c.1864]

Summary

[No informatiion about content.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [c. 1864]
Classmark:  British Library (Surrogate RP 10629)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-4375F

To Asa Gray   2 January [1863]

Summary

Thanks AG for Cypripedium and Mitchella.

Plans to investigate pollination of Cypripedium.

Has finished Linum paper [Collected papers 2: 93–105].

Would welcome facts on "bud-variations".

Hears that Cinchona is dimorphic.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Asa Gray
Date:  2 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Gray Herbarium of Harvard University (56)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3897

From Hugh Falconer   3 January [1863]

Summary

Describes an astounding "sort of mis-begotten-bird-creature", the Archaeopteryx, a grand Darwinian case.

His elephant paper is out in Natural History Review [(1863): 43–114].

Author:  Hugh Falconer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3899

To Joseph Dalton Hooker   3 January [1863]

thumbnail

Summary

Indignant over Owen’s conduct as described in Hugh Falconer’s article on elephants ["On the American fossil elephant of the regions bordering the Gulf of Mexico", Nat. Hist. Rev. (1863): 43–114].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  3 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 115: 178
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3898

To John Lubbock   4 January [1863]

Summary

Praises JL’s article ["North American archaeology", Nat. Hist. Rev. n.s. 3 (1863): 1–26]

and Hugh Falconer on the American fossil elephant [Nat. Hist. Rev. n.s. 3 (1863): 43–114].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Date:  4 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 263: 58
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3900

To Hugh Falconer   5 [and 6] January [1863]

Summary

His admiration for HF’s paper on American fossil elephant.

Notes "temporary irruption of S. American forms into N. America".

Rejoices that HF has "smashed" case of Mastodon on Timor.

Shares HF’s anger at Owen.

He is eager to hear about fossil bird [Archaeopteryx].

Comments on criticisms of species theory by [Johann Andreas?] Wagner.

Describes research on fertilisation of Melastomataceae.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Hugh Falconer
Date:  5 and 6 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 144: 29
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3901

From J. D. Hooker   6 January 1863

thumbnail

Summary

Falconer’s elephant paper.

Owen’s conduct.

Falconer’s view of CD’s theory: independence of natural selection and variation.

JDH on Tocqueville,

the principles of the Origin,

and the evils of American democracy.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 101: 88–91
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3902

From John Lubbock   6 January [1863]

Summary

Is pleased by CD’s praise of his article.

Hugh Falconer’s is certainly interesting.

Author:  John Lubbock, 4th baronet and 1st Baron Avebury
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 170: 24
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3903

From John Scott   6 January 1863

Summary

Sends Primula scotica and P. farinosa.

So far cannot fertilise Gongora atropurpurea although it is similar to Acropera luteola.

Experimenting on intergeneric hybrids to test CD’s view that sterility is not a special endowment.

Scott’s personal history.

Acropera capsule grows.

Plans for experiments CD has suggested on Primula, peloric Antirrhinum, and Verbascum.

Asks about Gärtner’s experiments on maize.

Aware of Anderson-Henry’s failures.

Through kindness of J. H. Balfour and James McNab, enjoys facilities for research. JS is in charge of the propagating department. Balfour almost engaged him to be superintendent of the Madras Horticultural Garden.

Author:  John Scott
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 177: 81, 83
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3904

To James Dwight Dana   7 January [1863]

Summary

Responds to JDD’s letter [3845].

Discusses his own poor health.

"Man is our great subject at present."

Lyell’s book [Antiquity of man (1863)] sold 4000 copies on day of sale.

"The fossil bird [Archaeopteryx] … is a grand case for me." Wishes a skeleton could be found in the "so-called red sandstone foot-step beds".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  James Dwight Dana
Date:  7 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Yale University Library: Manuscripts and Archives (Dana Family Papers (MS 164) Series 1, Box 2, folder 44)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3905

To Thomas Rivers   7 January [1863]

thumbnail

Summary

Thanks for parcel of shoots with several interesting cases of "bud-variation".

Asks for information about roses.

Strange that great changes in peaches are less rare than slight ones and no case seems recorded of new apples or pears or apricots by "bud-variation". "How ignorant we are!"

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Rivers
Date:  7 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 81
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3906

From Hugh Falconer   8 January [1863]

Summary

Comments on his elephant paper

and CD’s observations on dimorphism in Melastomataceae.

Author:  Hugh Falconer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 164: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3908

To John Scott   8 January [1863]

Summary

CD’s respect for JS’s indomitable work and interesting experiments increases steadily.

His gratitude for the primulas and the astonishing Gongora specimen.

Asks JS’s opinion about crossing a primrose with the pollen of a wild cowslip and of a cultivated polyanthus.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Scott
Date:  8 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Transactions of the Hawick Archæological Society (1908): 67
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3908F

From Hugh Falconer   9 January 1863

Summary

Answers CD’s query on the free digits of Archaeopteryx.

Author:  Hugh Falconer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 164: 12
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3909

To Thomas Henry Huxley   10 [January 1863]

Summary

CD overwhelmed by THH’s praise.

Agrees with his reservations about species theory but not wholly about sterility and gives his reasons for differing.

On Natural History Review, Hugh Falconer, and R. Owen.

Has written a review [Collected papers 2: 87–92] of H. W. Bates’s paper ["Contributions to an insect fauna of the Amazon valley", Trans. Linn. Soc. Lond. 23 (1862): 495–566].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  10 [Jan 1863]
Classmark:  Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 5: 183)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3852

To Thomas Rivers   11 January [1863]

thumbnail

Summary

Thanks for "rich and valuable" letter [missing].

Has read TR’s paper in Gardeners’ Chronicle ["Seedling fruits – plums", (1863): 27] – "a treasure to me".

Questions about seedling peaches that approach almonds.

Asks whether TR has ever observed varieties of plants growing close to other varieties for several generations without being affected by crossing.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Rivers
Date:  11 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  DAR 185: 82
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3910

To Henry Walter Bates   12 January [1863]

Summary

Asa Gray will try to get HWB’s paper reviewed.

Also mentions that he (CD) wrote a short review of it for Natural History Review [Collected papers 2: 87–92].

Asks whether bees or Lepidoptera visit flowers of Melastomataceae.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Henry Walter Bates
Date:  12 Jan [1863]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library (Robert M. Stecher collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3911

From J. D. Hooker   [12 January 1863]

thumbnail

Summary

Huxley’s lectures [Man’s place in nature (1863)]; he would be a scientific H. T. Buckle, if he were more careful.

Asks CD what the evidence is for inheritance of acquired characteristics.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [12 Jan 1863]
Classmark:  DAR 101: 98
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3892

From George Varenne Reed   12 January 1863

Summary

Sorry CD considers Horace Darwin unfit for school.

Author:  George Varenne Reed
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  12 Jan 1863
Classmark:  DAR 176: 78
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-3912
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1863
01 (69)
02 (73)
03 (60)
04 (64)
05 (76)
06 (34)
07 (39)
08 (30)
09 (29)
10 (12)
11 (27)
12 (13)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next